My thoughts as a new fractal user

hipiboy

Hi folks. My story and profile as a guitar player:

I'm a hobby guitarist from Monterrey, Mexico, 40 years old. My older brothers got me indirectly into metal, and by the time grunge was exploding in early nineties, I started playing guitar taking classes (mind you, Yamaha classical nylon acoustic). Later I won an electric in a contest, sold it and partly used the money for getting a black JemJr. Bought the first gen Peavey TransTube Bandit 112, and years later, a POD XT, I think it was the second generation of the kidney model. Before that, it was just the guitar and the amp...I was never a gearhead. Didn't have the money either. But in some ways, disenchanted with the sounds. Heck, I didn't even know how to dial that amp in, in hindsight. Youtube did not exist, and when it came out, I was very much focused on my newfound job as a recent college graduate. So, the guitar hobby took quite a long hiatus of 13+ years.
Last year I sought out to revive the hobby, purchasing a steel string acoustic. And said, "I'll just stick to acoustics, electric guitar, while I like to hear it, I just do not have good enough gear." But I read and watched some youtube videos about the amplifier modeling and guitar effects state of affairs, took the plunge with FAS, and so here I am. Still got my JemJr, just upgraded with gotoh hardware, and got me a "used" 2017 PRS CU24.

Aside from the acoustic stuff, I just like to (try to) learn songs I like, ranging from rush & pink floyd to 80's shredders (original G3 guys), going prog metal stuff (I was very much into "early" Dream Theater right up to 6DoIT), grunge (alice in chains). All the while at least, somehow, approximating the sounds of their recordings...

Onto my AXE III Impressions after having had a week with it, setting it up with a couple of used Adam A7's: