My (not so) Huge Rack

Ventanaman

Inspired
I posted this over at TGP and thought you all might be interested:

I just revamped my gigging rack and thought some of you may be interested in my setup.

First, I am a weekend warrior guitarist/singer in a modern rock band that does mostly covers and a few originals in bars and private parties. I also do some side production work for audio books and radio spots and my day job is completely unrelated to music or production.

I need a wide variety of high-quality tones that is (relatively) easy to transport. So, here is my latest iteration of my gig rig.

The signal chain is guitar -> G90 wireless -> split with tuner side into the Vocalist Live Pro and the main out into the AxeFX front input -> AxeFx then split with Out1 going to the PA and Out2 going into the Matrix and then to my Scumback M75-loaded cab (Stagecraft diagonal 2x12). All is controlled with the MFC-101 and a pair of Mission expression pedals.

I did all of the wiring myself (except the power cables) and it sounds fantastic. I always get other players coming up after shows wondering how I am getting so many great tones out of the system.

The best part of all - the entire rack weighs only 50 pounds.

DSC_0083.jpg

DSC_0082.jpg

DSC_0084.jpg

It was a lot of fun putting it together. The previous version contained a VHT 2/90/2 as the power amp, but I really wanted to add the G90 unit (which works as advertised) without going to a 8 space rack, and despite my reservations, took the plunge on the Matrix power amp. I plan on having an extensive review posted on the Matrix in a week or 2 after I have a few more rehearsals and a couple of gigs under my belt with the unit.

The rack case is just the standard Gator 6-space rack.