My Kemper Journey: Epilogue

Chris Hurley

Power User
I think this is about the end of the Kemper road for me. I expected that I would sell the Axe-FX II, keep the KPA and pocket the difference in price but after at least 10 hours working with it off and on, I’ve decided that the kemper will be returned.

Here’s the epilogue for those that are following along.

If you have a KPA and love it, that’s great. Its a great product and I’m glad that its working for you. I’m not trying to convince you of anything. This is just my opinion based on my needs and my experiences.

Quick background blob: I’ve been playing rock guitar for about 25 years. I’ve been performing for money in front of crowds for about 15 years. I get out of the “bedroom” but I make my living outside of music. I wasn’t a master craftsman, but I built a couple dozen tube amps during the 2000’s- mostly for other people. In the course of playing shows, I’ve sometimes had to play through other people’s tube amps but I’ve never played through a $4000 tube amp and haven’t generally felt any need to buy an amp since I started building amps. I was happy with what I was building. I tinkered with digital rigs before and during the time when I built amps but the axe-fx ultra was the first digital rig that I liked well enough to use regularly. It wasn’t perfect but it was close enough. Once my sons were born, the amount of time available to build amps shrank and so the axe-fx was great. I have yet to get comfortable running direct but I enjoyed the axe-fx in its role as “any tube amp sound that I want today.” I’ve spent a lot of time and money with various computer based sims but was never happy with the feel and overall sound unlike the axe-fx. When the axe-II was available, I was lucky enough to get one of the first ones. I had to sell it to raise money and spent several months working with various other rigs. I went back to my tube amp and initially appreciated its simplicity but started to miss some of the “ext