My FRFR Shootout (QSC, Verve, RCF, JBL)

BBN

Fractal Fanatic
Most of these speakers were auditioned in my basement, but a couple were at a pro audio dealer. The pro audio dealer had a back room with a stage, where they let me set up their speakers and some of mine….and crank them up.

Please remember, this is just my opinion. There is no science going on here….just my ears and my patches. I don’t make a living playing music, but I have been playing guitar for 20+ years, I play 120+ gigs a year. And like most folks on the forum, I’ve owned an array of tube amps over the years. My style is hard rock…Zakk Wylde/Disturbed tone.

My Rank (from best to worst):
1) FBT Verve 12ma
2) Tie QSC HPR 122i and Atomic FRFR
3) FBT Verve 8ma
4) Tie QSC K12 / JBL PRX612
5) RCF ART200a
6) JBL MRX515 (powered by Crown CE4000)
7) Carvin 1542a

Here’s what I liked and didn’t like (I’ll go from worst to best):

Carvin 1542a – no matter how much Eq’ing I did, it sounded like razor blades to my ears. The horn in these are just not pleasing with guitar signal. I use this as a cheap vocal monitor, and that’s where it’s going to stay. If I didn’t need these for vocal monitors, I would use them to chalk the wheels on my van when unloading gear.

JBL MRX515 – I was very disappointed with this speaker. For $700 (un-powered), I expected a higher quality sound. The JBL boxes seem to have harsh top end. Maybe this is part of the design to help vocals cut through a mix. Anyway, for a 15” driver, this had the least amount of low end handling. As soon as I did any palm muting, it fell apart.

RCF ART200a – this is not a bad speaker at all. Held together pretty well on the low end and had a decent top end tone. My only complaint is that it didn’t have enough volume and girth. But it’s a 200 watt box…so it puts out what I would expect. This is one of the older model RCF’s, so I would think the new models (with higher wattage) would be great. I’m a big fan of RCF.