More headroom at gig vs. at home using the same output settings?

The defaults for the Yamaha appear to be pre-fader (After EQ & Dynamics according to their docs). This is the most common setup. I can't imagine sending a mix to IEMs without this, it would sound harsh for vocals, drums, non-modelers, etc. This might not be the main problem, but I suspect it's influencing what you hear to a degree.

I'll have to ask again how we have ours routed. When I've asked previously, I thought they have said only the board gain level affects our ears, but I'm not a techie so I may have misunderstood. I'll ask again this weekend.

I'm probably imagining it, but I feel like switching the outputs to +4dB today at home resulted in a slight increase in headroom through my studio monitors (which are connected directly to the Axe outputs). I checked the manual, my monitor's XLR inputs expect +4dB, and I had the Axe outputs set to -10dB until today. I'm wondering if it was the -10dB setting, and the board obviously handles whatever is given to it, while my monitors expected to see a non-variable value?

The output levels wouldn’t give more “headroom” to the input of the amp in regards to drive or gain settings. I still think you were just louder at the gig and played the guitar lighter due to the louder volume. It’s a natural response. Really none of the settings on the mixer would affect amp gain levels since that’s all after the amp stage. But being louder would make you play the guitar more lightly.

When people first sing with IEMs, they hear themselves so well for the first time that they sing much lighter and can’t get their usual high notes because they aren’t pushing as much air since it’s so “loud” to them. Very common, almost everyone does it. I always have to teach my partners to mix their vocal a bit lower than they might want so they still have to work for the note and sing normally.