Monitors and FRFR cabs

Robb1977

Hi all
I have a pair of Yamaha HS7 monitors and a matrix gt1000fx power amp with a matrix fr212 frfr passive cab. I have downloaded presets from the likes of Leon and bought the naked amps pack from Austin Buddy. Now playing through the HS7 monitors sounds much better than the power amp and can, the cab sounds very bass heavy and almost like a completely different preset.
my question is which sound is correct the monitors or cab one? And is there a way so that I can make the cab sound like the monitors? I’m fairly new to this modelling so forgive me if I’ve missed something obvious.
cheers
Rob

Hi all
I have a pair of Yamaha HS7 monitors and a matrix gt1000fx power amp with a matrix fr212 frfr passive cab. I have downloaded presets from the likes of Leon and bought the naked amps pack from Austin Buddy. Now playing through the HS7 monitors sounds much better than the power amp and can, the cab sounds very bass heavy and almost like a completely different preset.
my question is which sound is correct the monitors or cab one? And is there a way so that I can make the cab sound like the monitors? I’m fairly new to this modelling so forgive me if I’ve missed something obvious.
cheers
Rob

Did you turn Power Amp Modeling and Cabinet Modeling off when using a real power amp and cab? (Setup -> Global Setting)

I'd trust the HS7 monitors. The Matrix power amp and cab might sound better at high volume.

I've never tried an FR212 but I did own a Matrix Q12a and FR10 which were supposed to be FRFR but were VERY different than my studio monitors at CLR.

The monitors are likely to be the most "correct" but if you plan on playing out with the Matrix then tweak the presets for the Matrix. There are plenty of ways of cutting the low end within a preset so I'm sure you'll be able to dial in a decent, balanced tone with the Matrix. You could even have one preset dialled in for the monitors and another for the Matrix.