MIDI transfer issues, corrupt data

Zyglrox

Hi,

I'm pretty new to Axe-FX as I was basically gifted an old device to pay off a debt, and I'm more of a plug n'play kind of guy so never really worked with it and learned it. But now I have all these problems going for me which I'm hoping someone can help resolve. Sorry in advance for the TL;DR post.

Setup:
Axe-FX Standard, firmware 11
Axe-Edit Legacy Beta on Windows 10 Pro x64
Interface: Steinberg UR-22

So I have this Axe-FX which all of a sudden went mental on me after working fine for the 6 months or so I've had it. It started with what I thought was some kind of interference/noise which turned out to be a corrupt user cab.

Then I realized most or all of the presets had corrupt data - missing or added blocks/effects, wierd gibberish-like names containing all kinds of special characters, broken chains resulting in no output, etc. In addition the display on the Axe-Fx became unreadable, which I later found out was because of the contrast setting being reset to default, which is kind of low.

In the beginning the gibberish-like names were present both on the Axe-FX and Axe-Edit, however after many hours messing around this is no longer the case. I believe I have managed to delete all the presets on the Axe-FX, but when "syncing from hardware" some of the presets have these corrupted names on Axe-Edit while being nameless/empty on the Axe-FX itself.

On top of all this, I have immensely big issues with data transfers and the "BAD CHECKSUM" error.

What I've tried so far:
- Reinstalling/updating interface driver
- Reinstalling Axe-Edit, starting with a new/clean workspace
- Changed the battery inside the Axe-FX
- Reset Axe-FX to factory defaults
- Loopback test on both MIDI cables - PASSED
- Connection test - PASSED
- Verified physical connections, ports, Sysex ID and I/O settings - all seems to be in order as far as I can tell, and this is also confirmed by the fact that the above tests have PASSED(?).