MIDI Program Change on two units at a time

Hello everyone, I'm quite new to the MIDI thing.

Here's my question:
Say we have two Axe's in a band and we want the DAW to change programs/presets automatically on both units. How do we set the thing going?
I mean both technically (what hardware is needed?) and software-side (how do I set MIDI tracks to control two units at a time?).

The more detail the better. Appreciate your help =)

Russ

DAW --> (MIDI or USB) --> Axe-Fx 1 MIDI IN --> Axe-Fx 1 MIDI OUT --> Axe-Fx 2 MIDI IN.

Or:

DAW >> MIDI Splitter --> Axe-Fx 1 MIDI IN
.................................... --> Axe-Fx 2 MIDI IN

DAW --> (MIDI or USB) --> Axe-Fx 1 MIDI IN --> Axe-Fx 1 MIDI OUT --> Axe-Fx 2 MIDI IN.

Or:

DAW >> MIDI Splitter --> Axe-Fx 1 MIDI IN
.................................... --> Axe-Fx 2 MIDI IN

Thanx, wow that's very quick. Does that allow to: 1. send different program changes to different units (say, bar 2, change to preset #1 on the first Axe, bar 2, change to preset #20 on the second Axe), 2. change preset on one Axe FX while leaving the other untouched?

Thanx, wow that's very quick. Does that allow to: 1. send different program changes to different units (say, bar 2, change to preset #1 on the first Axe, bar 2, change to preset #20 on the second Axe), 2. change preset on one Axe FX while leaving the other untouched?
It will as long as each Axe-FX is set to it's own MIDI channel and the program change messages are sent to their respective channel(s).

Last edited:
MIDI is super powerful. You can control up to 16 separate devices with one port. My MIDI control list looks like this:

1 - X32 Scenes
2 - X32 Snippet
3 - X32 Cue
4 - X32 Cue
5 - X32 Cue
6 - X32 Cue
7 - Fractal Ultra
8 - Fractal XL
9 - VoiceLive VL2
10 - BigSky
11 - GR55
12 - Rumour
13 -
14 -
15 - DMXIS Banks
16 - DMXIS Presets

MIDI is super powerful. You can control up to 16 separate devices with one port. My MIDI control list looks like this:

1 - X32 Scenes
2 - X32 Snippet