MIDI control and signal chains: AXE FX II mk2 + some analog pedals + G2 +...

PretzelPete

Hello all

I have two key questions I need some advice on.

Preamble
Well I made a bit of a plunge today, as I was able to trade a guitar + cash I had up for sale at a local establishment for an Axe FX II mk2 + Rocktron All Access (predecessor to the Rocktron MIDI Raider, from what I can tell) + SKB 4U case with wheels/telescopic handle. This is my first try of an Axe FX. Note that it's pretty hard to get an Axe FX III down under at the moment, though will consider in the future once supply seems better.

As far as I am concerned at the moment, this cleans out my need for a few overdrives/distortions, looper, perhaps the DD200 delay (though I still have to explore my options), noise gate etc.

So, I've played with the Axe FX; I quite like it. I reckon I want to use the follow pedals from my pedalboard and have them switch in and out.

• Fuzz War
  • Frederick Effects Harmonic Percolator
  • EQD Transmisser
  • Fulltone FatBoost

I may decide to run the Boss RV-500 I have + the DD200 in the SKB case, just MIDI controlled on the Axe FX effects loop.

I have a Gigrig G2 I have been using for years. My idea at the moment (I've only had the Axe for a few hours) is the following:

Signal Chain Option 1: Guitar--> Gigrig G2 {4 pedals listed above} --> Axe Fx II {RV-500, DD-200} in effects loop --> FRFR of some sort.

I am thinking this since it is (a) simple, and (b) the fuzz is the most important for me to be at the front.

The idea is to then control everything via the Rocktron.

However, the more I think about it the more I imagine I should shove the G2 into the effects loop of the AXE FX since I can move that loop around, so that would look like this.

Signal Chain Option 2: Guitar --> Axe FX II [Effects Loop: {Gigrig G2 with RV-500, DD-200 + the other 4 pedals above ] --> FRFR of some sort

Questions