MFC101 or MC6

Billbill

Power User
What should I get? The FAS MFC101
or the MC6. I know it's about what my needs are but honestly, I don't know what I'm missing with either device because I am new to this MIDI guff haha. I'm thinking about the MFC101 because I'd hate to get something else then realize that I can't do this or that with it. I guess all I really need is preset/scene changes on the fly, tuner display, and a few IA's.
Second, I've read that the 101 can only access the first 100 or so presets. Problem is that all my custom patches start at slot 400. So can the MFC101 be programmed to start at slot 400? My thought process is to avoid having to rearrange any factory presets (I like to play with them sometimes) and any factory ones I like I'll copy to new preset number after 400 so I can grab them via MFC101. Thoughts??

Midi program change ranges from 0-127.
Anything after 127 is not accessible as far as I know.
If someone knows a way to access past that I would love to know.
I copy all my song presets to the first 127 slots.
Not a big deal since you can back up any state of your Axe and even access individual ones from the backup in Axe edit.
I can't speak for the MFC but the MC6 is awesome.
Will do everything you want. Even tuner but that won't be as good as what is on the unit.

The MFC can access the first 384 presets on the Axe Fx. If you want to go beyond that on the MFC, you'll need to do some re-mapping of presets which I would advise against. The simplest solution is to just move your factory presets into a range that won't overlap your user presets. I would keep your user presets in bank 1, personally.

If you're not sure what you need I'd recommend the MFC-101 -- it's easy to use, integrates perfectly and supports a high number of external controller options. The MC-6 is, IMHO, more of a power user tool -- when you know exactly what you need and can live with only 6 switches.