1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

MFC Tuner sensitivity

Discussion in 'MFC Discussion' started by joegold, Feb 9, 2018.

  1. joegold

    joegold
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    440
    Location:
    Toronto
    Can the tuner display on the MFC be adjusted so as to be slightly more forgiving?

    I find it much harder to use than the graphic on the AxeII led screen.

    E.g. Some tuners have an accuracy rating of +/-1c.
    Some have a rating of +/-3c.
    Any way to do something like this with the MFC?
    I can't use it for much as it is.
     
  2. vangrieg

    vangrieg
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    659
    MFC doesn’t have a tuner of its own. It’s just another display for the Axe tuner. And a poor one at that. It only gets information from Axe via MIDI in periodic SysEx messages, and that’s a slow process, so it jumps all over the place.

    Moreover, MFC won’t be updated anymore it seems. Even if this could theoretically be improved (I don’t know that it could), it won’t be.

    So it is what it is.
     
  3. joegold

    joegold
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    440
    Location:
    Toronto
    OK. Thanks.
    That's a bummer.
     
  4. mr_fender

    mr_fender
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,248
    Likes Received:
    2,333
    Yeah I typically watch the ball on the Axe II screen itself. The Axe Edit display seems a little more stable than the MFC, but still not as good as the front panel. Those tiny clip on headstock tuners have gotten surprisingly good and cheap. Some are even polyphonic now. Just turn down the guitar volume and tune away anytime.
     
    joegold likes this.
  5. paranoid

    paranoid
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    florida
    joegold likes this.
  6. vangrieg

    vangrieg
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    659
    Yeah, I have that too. Will have to get rid of it though when I move to Axe-FX III. :(
     
  7. Eliju

    Eliju
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    155
    One thing I do that helps is go slow with it. It feels like there’s a delay in response time so when I’m close I wait an extra second to see where it settles and then I don’t overshoot.
     
    JayCM800XL likes this.
  8. joegold

    joegold
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    440
    Location:
    Toronto
    I've got no time for that.
     
  9. JayCM800XL

    JayCM800XL
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    676
    Location:
    NYC
    But when you get right on the MFC... it is right on tune!
     
  10. BBN

    BBN
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Me either. I don't understand why the tuner on the MFC has a 'delay'. It's super annoying. I sing lead vocals, and I find myself trying to sing and tune, while looking back at my Axe screen, instead of using MFC.
    I used to use the RJM Mastermind (which was 1/3rd the price) and it was excellent at displaying the tuner. Super easy to tune with.
     
  11. boardwlk17

    boardwlk17
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,349
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    PRS Coast
    Can it be fixed with an update
     
  12. joegold

    joegold
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    440
    Location:
    Toronto
    I don't imagine much development for the MFC will be happening now that the AxeIII and the new pedals are coming out.
    I'm a little ticked off that if I want to go for a III I'll also have to scrap the MFC and get the one of the new FCs.
    But I'll live.
     
    ∞Fractals likes this.
  13. RalphNYC

    RalphNYC
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    NYC
    I just got an MFC, and I don't mind the tuner function on it at all. It's not as good obviously as the AxeFX but good enough for gigs. I also have an Morningstar MC6 that communicates with the tuner on the AxeFX and that is really bad. So coming from that to the MFC was a nice surprise actually.
     

Share This Page