1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

MFC Error 14 on

Discussion in 'MFC Discussion' started by gvolp, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. gvolp

    gvolp
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Hello all,

    I am having trouble updating the MFC to v2.01. It sends fine, I get to "100% Complete" (strangely never says "FW Update Complete" from Craig's great posts, thanks for those). I waited 10 mins after the 100% Complete the second time I tried. It never changed so I then power down the MFC and then hold down switch 11, power up and I get Error 14. I also get Error 14 when I don't hold down switch 11.

    Particulars
    Windows 7 with Axe FX upgraded to FW 6 (all went great here)
    Using MIDI OX and AxeFX as my MIDI interface - I am using the power cord and not CAT5
    Configuring MIDI OX I had both in and out buffers set at 256 & 16 and the milliseconds at 60

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Greg
     
  2. GuitarDojo

    GuitarDojo
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    2,591
    Location:
    Texas
    Re-download the update and try again. This happened to me before. Do a factory reset after.
     
  3. #3 Stratoblaster, Apr 24, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2012
    Stratoblaster

    Stratoblaster
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    1,080
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    On Win7/64 using the USB to AXE II to MFC I've set MidiOx to:

    Milliseconds between buffers: 90 ms
    Delay After: 60 ms

    and I get reliable transfers; I've gotten Error 14/partial transfers/100% but no confirmation message, etc. on a previous update and those numbers have worked for me for several MFC upgrades now (I get FW UPDATE COMPLETE!! on the first try)...try that configuration perhaps?

    For transfering firmware via USB -> II I can set both of those MidiOx times to 20mS and get fast, reliable transfers.
     
  4. MrGuitarabuse

    MrGuitarabuse
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,885
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Location:
    China/Hong Kong
    check the wiki Yeks MFC-101 How-Tos page - Fractal Audio Systems Wiki

    especially this part
    "MIDI utilities may need to be configured to work "slowly" in order to perform a successful upgrade. For example, in MIDI-OX set Low Level I/O Buffers to 256 or 128 (size) and 16 (number), Milliseconds Between Buffers to 60 ms, and make sure the Delay after F7 setting is ticked. Use View > Sysex to bring up the Sysex view window, then go to Sysex > Configure to configure the buffers. Also verify that the options MIDI FIlter and Pass Sysex are ticked"

    I had same problem but after configure sysex to 128/16 and also set delay after F7 to 75ms it works and i got the proper "FW update complete"
    dont know which of the parameters that did the trick but it worked for me. now if you excuse me, I have some playing to do ;)
     
  5. GuitarDojo

    GuitarDojo
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    2,591
    Location:
    Texas
    I left the midi ox setting to default. Always works (Win 7 Ult 64)
     
  6. kaos7

    kaos7
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've had this happen to me and it has always been resolved by slowing things down even more. Change your delays to 150 ms. The download will take longer but hopefully you should get to the "FW Successfully Updated" message.
     
  7. redburst21

    redburst21
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Mt. Vernon NY
    i use sysex lib and got to 99% when i got an error 13. I lowered the speed 4% and it worked next go around....
     
  8. gvolp

    gvolp
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Just wanted to give you all a quick update - I have tried many times with no success. I really appriate all the help, this forum and all users and Fractal are awesome.

    I have tried about every combo I can stand this evening. Going to start playing rather than fighting this. I'll have another go at it again when my patience returns.

    Thanks again for all the help.
     
  9. gvolp

    gvolp
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Finally got it

    Well I got back to it this morning, and finally got it to work after much persistence. After about the 15[SUP]th[/SUP] time sending the update it finally worked. A few things I tried that may help others are:
    Reinstalled MIDIOx, redownloaded MFC FW code, tried several different MIDI cables, kept fiddling with buffer sizes and other params as instructed by other helpful forum members. The last 5 times I tried it, I stuck with the parameters shown below and it finally worked.

    I created my own version of the instructions for people having trouble using the Axe as a MIDI interface. Special thanks go out to Cobbler for a very helpful post (of which I scarfed a screenshot, thanx). Here it is FWIW. Hope it helps someone.
    1. On Axe FX hit the I/O button then navigate to the MIDI page using page buttons:
      1. Set the SEND_REALTIME_SYSEX to NONE
      2. Set the USB_ADAPTER_MODE to ON
      3. Power down the Axe-Fx II
    2. Remove the CAT-5 cable between Axe-Fx II and MFC-101
    3. Connect Axe-Fx MIDI-OUT to MFC-101 MIDI-IN with a 5-pin cable (don’t need 2 cables)
    4. Power up the Axe-FX II
    5. Start up computer (with Axe connected via USB)
    6. Power up the MFC-101 while holding down footswitch 1 (I use power cable, I hear you can use CAT5 as well for power?) – Should see “FW Update Mode” on MFC display.
    7. On computer, start MIDI OX and from its user interface
    8. From main window, choose View->Sysex
      1. From the menu on the new window that appears, choose Sysex->Configure – Look at Picture 1 Below
      2. Change these values
        1. Low Level I/O Buffers: Size = 256, Num = 16
        2. Both Milliseconds parameters: 90 (from a default of 60)
      3. Press OK to close this window, then close the Sysex window.
    9. From main window, choose Options->Midi Devices – Look at Picture 2 below
      1. From MIDI Outputs list (lower left) click on AxeFX. It should now appear in the Port Mapping list (upper right).
      2. Click OK button to close the MIDI Devices window.
    10. From main window, choose Actions->Send File
      1. Navigate to the .syx file and double click the file
    11. You should now see the % Complete steadily go up on the MFC:
      1. If you see “FW Update Complete” on the MFC then rejoice – go to step 12.
      2. If you see Errors or “100 % Complete” power down the MFC only.
        1. Try again by repeating steps 6, 10 and 11.
        2. I kept trying and it worked after about the 15[SUP]th[/SUP] time. Persistence finally paid off. I would get various errors (6, 14, 17) along the way.
    12. Shut down MIDI Ox and the MFC and remove the power and MIDI cables from MFC.
    13. On Axe FX hit the I/O button then navigate to the MIDI page using page buttons:
      1. Set the SEND_REALTIME_SYSEX to ALL
      2. Set the USB_ADAPTER_MODE to OFF
      3. Power down the Axe-Fx II - wait 5 secs then repower up the Axe FX
    14. Reconnect the CAT5 cable to the MFC while holding down switch #11 on the MFC
      1. Restore by pressing the red blinking ENTER switch #14 on the MFC
    15. Rock on
    Sorry couldn't figure out how to integrate without messing up numbering
    Picture 1

    1.jpg
    Picture 2

    2.jpg
     
    wogs858, hussamd and PALYGAP like this.
  10. elchampion

    elchampion
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Austin, Texas, United States
    I can't seem to be able to get past Error 14!! I've tried midiox and snoize(sys lib), the axe II and 2x2 midisport, 3 different midi cables, changed buffer speeds, switched Sysex messages off on axe, USB on. Nothing works! This happens every update but have gotten lucky. Guess I'll just keep trying until it works. Frustrating to say the least!
     
  11. elchampion

    elchampion
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Austin, Texas, United States
    Finally after about 2 hours moving the Sysex lib slider up 2 notches down 2 up 4 down 1, reaching 99% 3 times.... The words update complete read on the glowing green screen!! What a relief!!! There's got to be an easier more reliable way to update the MFC! Luckily it doesn't happen as often as the Axe.
     
  12. gvolp

    gvolp
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    congrats champion, I know that feeling too. I reached 100% complete a few times but no further. Now enjoy - there are so many cool additions
     
  13. MikeyB59

    MikeyB59
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    499
    Sorry for your troubles, but thanks for the help. I followed Yek's how-to and it worked first time, but I hadn't done the very last step to "Restore." Prior to doing that, the MFC wasn't updating from changes to Axe Edit or the Axe FX, but now they're all working in sync. I've been waiting/hoping for this to happen with any midi controller for about 3 years now, so very happy about that.
     
  14. hussamd

    hussamd
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago W Burbs
    Thanks dude! That worked like a charm. What I was missing was step 14 and slowing the IO down.

    This forum rocks!

     
  15. hussamd

    hussamd
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago W Burbs
    Thanks dude! That worked like a charm. What I was missing was step 14 and slowing the IO down.

    This forum rocks!

     
  16. chris5150

    chris5150
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    58
    Thanks for this post, I updated but for error 14 a few times , was
    Following cobbles post, when I followed this thread and powered mfc back up whilst connected to axe it worked first time cheers
     
  17. masiel

    masiel
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same problem, can't fix it. Keeps showing 100 complete and freeze, and multiple erros :( please heeeeelp
     

Share This Page