MFC-Edit Owner's Manual - Read It Here!

Discussion in 'MFC-Edit' started by bwanagary, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. #1 bwanagary, Jun 10, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
    bwanagary

    bwanagary
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    783
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, United States

    Attached Files:

    JayCM800XL, R.D., Mark's Tone and 2 others like this.
  2. jeffrey leiknes

    jeffrey leiknes
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Paul MN
    I am unsure as to why the MFC EDIT I've just installed is not opening. I read the prompt to install a JDK and did so. Any help? I'm running a Macbook Pro OS Sierra 10.12.5
     
  3. bwanagary

    bwanagary
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    783
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, United States
    This is, especially with older versions of MFC-Edit, a thing that happens when the program is closed (or the computer shutdown/rebooted) while MFC-Edit is minimized. When MFC-Edit restarts it goes to its last known location and size. Sometimes that is on a display that is turned off or no longer connected to the computer so although MFC-Edit is running, it is running "off-screen" or out of view. You can launch MFC-Edit as "java -jar MFC-Edit.jar -clear window_locations" from a Terminal or Command window and that will reset the window locations and sizes the same as if you had just installed MFC-Edit for the very first time. You will need to provide the full path to the MFC-Edit.jar file. On a MAC, you can open a Terminal window (from the Applications->Utilities folder) and paste this command: /Applications/MFC-Edit.app/Contents/MacOS/mfc-edit.sh -clear window_locations.

    If that doesn't resolve the mystery for you I would start by moving it into the Trash folder, move the installer into the Trash folder as well, then re-download and reinstall. If you still can't launch MFC-Edit then please open a support ticket and include a detailed description of the steps you're performing and what behavior you're seeing when the program doesn't launch. Screenshots are appreciated if appropriate. And BTW, you don't actually need the JDK, only the runtime, JRE.
     
  4. jeffrey leiknes

    jeffrey leiknes
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Paul MN
    Thanks brother! I'm up and running. I guess it was the java thing? In any case now to see what little damage I can incur. Sure is going to beat pressing all those footswitches...;)
     
  5. bwanagary

    bwanagary
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    783
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, United States
    Glad you're up and running.
     
  6. mousey

    mousey
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Sydney
    Why does the manual not start with how to connect the MFC edit, as it instead goes right into what the program can do and assumes hooking up is obvious?
    Please correct me if I'm wrong.
    I don't have the Ac adapter as my unit never came with one which was purchased outside of USA through the appropriate distributor.
    All I want to do is to experiment with changing the order/layout of the presets and various stomp effects/function switches on the MFC.
    I know I can use the axe fx as a stand alone midi device, although I own a Unitor 8 as well.
    Powering and connecting the MFC to send and receive midi dumps with MFC edit is not stated in the MFC edit manual, at least where I would expect to read it at the beginning. Do I really need to buy an appropriate power adapter? I own the latest versions of the axe fx and MFC.
    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  7. bwanagary

    bwanagary
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    783
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, United States
    Its in the MFC-101 Owner's Manual.
     
  8. caseone

    caseone
    Expand Collapse
    Rookie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought it, but I won't use it, because there is no Chinese manual.The eventide's effector is basically Chinese and has a Chinese operation interface so I bought three H9 and another H9000.I would be grateful if fractal could do the Chinese translation well.
     

Share This Page