MFC can't update over CAT5e?

NY Guitarist

Power User
I posted this in another thread but felt it might be useful as a separate topic for those, who like me, RTFM but still don't fully comprehend what is needed to update the MFC.

Asking to confirm: The ONLY way to update the MFC firmware is to use a MIDI cable? And using Cat 5e is a NO-GO?

And I can use the Axe-2 as a MIDI interface to do the update? FWIW I actually did RTM but am still uncertain.

"Damn it Jim, I'm a musician... not an IT guy!"

If you use the Axe Fx as your Midi interface, you need a cat5 cable, 1 five pin midi cable, and a midi librarian like Midi-OX. The instructions are on the WIKI and in the documents that come in the zip file with the download.

I am, to put it mildly, no expert with this but I just followed the instructions and updated mine. The only oddity in the instruction on one of the pages is it listed powering up the MFC before turning on the Axe II, then powering on the MFC with the 1 button held down. I didn't quite get how to power it up twice... so I just powered it up holding down the #1 button after the Axe II was running. It worked fine.

If you use the Axe Fx as your Midi interface, you need a cat5 cable, 1 five pin midi cable, and a midi librarian like Midi-OX. The instructions are on the WIKI and in the documents that come in the zip file with the download.

I am, to put it mildly, no expert with this but I just followed the instructions and updated mine. The only oddity in the instruction on one of the pages is it listed powering up the MFC before turning on the Axe II, then powering on the MFC with the 1 button held down. I didn't quite get how to power it up twice... so I just powered it up holding down the #1 button after the Axe II was running. It worked fine.

Rick is that contradiction on the wiki? It's not in the zip file is it?

Thanks Rick! I just found more docs in the MFC -2.1 zip file and am about to read them now.