MFC-101 and Mission EP-1 for Volume not Working

SeanJuan

Hello, I am new to my Fractal gear as well and the forums and I seek your help. I have a Axe FX II XL+ and an MFC-101, along with a mission EP-1 expression pedal. I am trying to setup the pedal as a volume pedal. I have researched it and done everything listed in a couple of the common videos I have found in these forums. Here's what I have tried:
  • on the MFC-101, I have configured expression pedal 1 (also tried 2) so that it reads "XP1 #011 CH01 BegPDL" also tried the BegOFF setting
  • I have gone in and calibrated the pedal to range from 000 to 116
  • On the Axe FX, I have checked that in the I/O menu, CTRL tab the OUT1 VOLUME is set to 11. I have checked and verified that this is the only item set to 11
  • Then I added VOL/PAN to my preset and verified that it is set to External 1
  • I am using a TRS cable from the pedals OUT 1 port to the Expression 1 port on the MFC
After all of this, the pedal is not controlling the volume. Any help or guidance is appreciated.

Thanks

You’ve set Out 1 Volume to CC# 11 then you’ve set the Volume block to External 1. External 1 is not CC#11.

You need to set your XP port to whatever number External 1 is in the control list.

XP port set to External 1’s CC#
Set modifier to External 1

That’s it.

Thank you for your reply. I must be missing a step but I thought I had done with you suggested.

Attachments

• Axe1.jpg
    Axe1.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 8
  • Axe2.jpg
    Axe2.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 8
I have played around with it a bit more and still no luck. I did realize that I made a mistake (but feel it should have still worked) buy assigning both the MFC and AXE FX to CC11. I have since changed them both to CC16, which is "EXT CTRL 1", then I verified that my volume block in AXE-Edit is set to "Extern 1" but when I move the pedal, it still does control the volume.

Last edited:
I am at a loss. I have followed this video step by step: