Matching of Master Volume and Preamp Gain

lj045637

Inspired
Dear all,

I use my Axe Fx II XL+ with Equator D5s and am mainly focused on home recording at low volume.

Recently I purchased some high gain presets from Fremen and would like to tweak them to my needs.
Where I am struggling with is how to match the Master Volume to the preamp gain...suitable for my pickups.

Is there some recipe how to do this?
Lower both to zero and raise them one by one?
Or fix Master Volume at max. 4 and adjust preamp gain?

I play a Suhr Modern with humbuckers which sound too dark with the current state of these presets.
I am aware that the amp EQ would be a measure, but I would like to fix the ratio Master Volume / preamp gain first correctly and then continue with EQ.

I am fully into that 80s rock/metal sound like Dokken, Whitesnake etc.

Really looking forward to your advice.

Thanks & rock on !!!

Last edited:
I'm relatively new to the Axe Fx and originally levelled my volume with the output meters. I found it didn't really work. After some research, I found what you need to do is use the VU meters within the Utility page to set your average volumes between or within your patches. The output meters can only show you your peaks relative to your signal where as the VU will show you your average volume (RMS). VU meters get over looked in my opinion which happened to me. This video helped me to finally sort out my levels properly.

If you want to use multiple guitars you could set an overall average between what your using.