Marshall 1965 4x10 cab, 8ohm with Matrix gt1000fx and fm9

Hi all, I got my hands on a vintage Marshall cab. Its model 1965B, 4x10, marked at 8ohms and 140W R.M.S. It has a single 1/4 input.

I just obtained a matrix Gt1000fx 2u, and the brains are my fm9.

I don't want to blow anything up, I'm a newbie and don't know the best way to connect the fm9 to the matrix, and the matrix to the cab. What connections should I use?

Beyond that, I don't know how to run the matrix in such a way as not to blow out the speakers. Ohms and rms confuse me.

What settings should I apply on the matrix and fm9? Can anyone help me with what to do?

If you run that amp mono to a single 8Ω cab it delivers 1000 watts. That cab has 35W speakers. That power could smoke them quickly.

If it were mine I would re-wire that cab with a pair of speakers in series as 16Ω on one jack
And the other pair also in series on another jack.
That would give you 150W per channel. And it would be in stereo. It's a simple wiring job that can easily be returned to stock.

You could also replace the single stock TS jack with a TRS and make a short pigtail with a male TRS plug to 2 female TS jacks.
Edit: that trs jack won't work for speaker level! ignore that part.

Last edited:
If you run that amp mono to a single 8Ω cab it delivers 1000 watts. That cab has 35W speakers. That power could smoke them quickly.

If it were mine I would re-wire that cab with a pair of speakers in series as 16Ω on one jack
That would give you 150W per channel. And it would be in stereo. It's a simple wiring job that can easily be returned to stock.

You could also replace the single stock TS jack with a TRS and make a short pigtail with a male TRS plug to 2 female TS jacks.
Interesting. So I wouldn't need to actually change the speakers just change the wiring? that sounds like a great idea. I don't know how to wire for crap but I can get someone to help me...

Edit: that trs jack won't work for speaker level! ignore that part.