Mark Day tone match

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Tone Match' started by crowded, Feb 1, 2017.

  1. crowded

    crowded
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello everyone!
    Can anybody explain me how to match this awesome sound? Is it possible to get closer to it? :)
     
    brycegoertzen and ropale like this.
  2. dpeterson

    dpeterson
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Location:
    Springboro, OH
    I'd use the CAE preamp lead channel, and some really hot pickups, or put a boost in front of it. Those Aldrich pickups are very high output if my memory serves me correctly.
     
  3. crowded

    crowded
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    i have the same pickup on my LP. I've tried to use the CAE amp model, but no chance.... hope the tone match block will help me :)
     
  4. dpeterson

    dpeterson
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,461
    Likes Received:
    1,584
    Location:
    Springboro, OH
    hmm post a recording and maybe someone can chime in. that sound you are hearing is room tone too I think...
     
  5. R.D.

    R.D.
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,305
    Likes Received:
    431
    Location:
    Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
    Save yourself the trouble !

    Go here: http://axechange.fractalaudio.com/detail.php?preset=5090

    You'll need to tweak a little to adjust for your particular guitar. But Mark's tone is REMARKABLY consistent regardless of what his daily rig of choice might be.

    This will get you so close it's scary ....

    Good Luck !
     
    bobmichigan and crowded like this.
  6. Admin M@

    Admin M@
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,984
    Likes Received:
    18,476
    Location:
    Greenest NJ
    I'm pretty sure that @Mark Day can just make a Mark Day preset and you'll be there. His sound is in his ears and hands.
     
    rushfan, levipeto, nhgtrman and 3 others like this.
  7. boardwlk17

    boardwlk17
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,135
    Likes Received:
    176
    Location:
    PRS Coast
    Might be loud as crap too
     
  8. androtaz

    androtaz
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    17
    Try Yek's moded british amp presets, such as Friedman HBE, Splawn etc... Find the one you like best.
    I also have LP type guitar with SA pups, and can easily get those tones with Yek's brilliant amp presets.
     
  9. crowded

    crowded
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    do you mean this thread ?
    "Yek's preset collection (Quantum 6.01, Axe-Fx II XL) and blog"
    thx, i'll check it out
     
  10. Rick Ranum

    Rick Ranum
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried importing this patch into the axe and got a blank page. Anyone else have this problem?
     
  11. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,177
    Likes Received:
    2,513
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    It looks like it was created using Q7 firmware? You must have the same or newer firmware to run it.
     
  12. Mark Day

    Mark Day
    Expand Collapse
    FAS Artist-in-Residence
    Fractal Audio Systems

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    2,823
    Location:
    Canada
    I tend to go for the same type sound for just about everything so any of my presets should get you in the ball park. Try this one that is my current goto. Scene 2 and 3 for dirt.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. WERNER1

    WERNER1
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Belleville, IL
    :oops:
    This will translate over to AX8 right,...???
     
  14. kirkosaurus

    kirkosaurus
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Not with two amp blocks. If you convert it with Fractool it wills shunt one of them.
     
  15. Mark Day

    Mark Day
    Expand Collapse
    FAS Artist-in-Residence
    Fractal Audio Systems

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    2,823
    Location:
    Canada
    You can go to my factory preset on the AX8 and it will get you into this territory. Bank 14 preset 7.
    or use Fractool to convert the one above and shunt the clean amp side.
    Mark
     
    Cem likes this.
  16. WERNER1

    WERNER1
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Belleville, IL
    Sounds good,.. I'll check it out here soon.. Thanks!
     
  17. androtaz

    androtaz
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    17

Share This Page