Made my first preset today...

dmedlock

Let’s just say it wasn’t all that bad...for a first try. 😅

I was trying to emulate Dokken’s “In My Dreams”, so I started with the Plexi 100 1970 amp boosted by a Super OD, one of the 1960A 4x12 cabs, added the North Church Reverb and the Analog Stereo Chorus and then started tweaking things...

@2112 videos and tutorials were helpful but when all was said and done it still sounded kind of dull, for a lack of a better word...almost like there was a thin blanket over the speakers. After an hour of tweaking things, I just went ahead and saved the preset and decided to try some more things with it at a later date.

I will say this thing is quickly becoming highly addictive and I’m sure eventually I will be making some killer presets. The FM3 sure makes me wish I was a better guitarist though 😅

Last edited:
1 what are you listening through?
2 post your preset here, smart people will likely figure out what’s up
3 make sure you learn gain staging

Playing through headphones right now, HD280’s.

Sorry for the dumb question, but how does one post a preset?

In my limited experience (I've only had the FM3 for a couple days now) I find that all the presets sounded amazing through headphones without tweaking, but kind of dark, blanket over the speaker through my studio monitors. When creating my own patches, the dark/muffled/blanket over the speaker sound is highly dependent on the Master Volume of most amps. When you're playing with some gain, often times you have to pull back the MV and compensate with the output level or put a drive pedal in front as a clean boost. You can also use the boost feature on the preamp tab of your amp block.

Thanks, I’ll experiment with the MV and see how that changes things. I left the MV at the stock setting on this preset.