LPD - Adventures in Tone Matching Stuff Part 1

groovenut

Power User
Hey all! So I've been designing and building tube amps and such for about ten years. One of the designs I did about a year ago is a high voltage tube preamp pedal that uses a SMPS for power (Realistically an external hard drive power supply). It runs the tubes at ~350 volts from a 12 volt wall supply and sounds pretty good. it looks like this and I call it the Gearu Tube Overdrive.
GearuTubeOverdrive.jpg

It sounds pretty good running direct in with just a cab IR but really sounds great into a clean tube power amp. So I decided today was a good day to try and find a way to get it into my AxeFx II. Realistically I probably should have used an amp model for it, but I wanted to see if it was possible with the drive pedal block and a TMA.

I started off with the tubedriver and changed the clipping to HV Tube. Then I did a preliminary TM and started playing with the gain levels. Right away I realized I was going to have to boost the heck out of the drive block to get the levels of gain my pedal has (which is a vast amount). I dropped a null filter in front of the drive block and boosted the input ~18dB to get the gain levels the same. Then I did my second TM. At this point they were sounding and behaving very similar, so I did one last round of tweaking and a final TM.

BTW, the tone knob on both the pedal and drive block are at noon. This means that it is rolling off a good deal of highs and a slight adjustment can make it much brighter (for those of you who feel the tone is a bit dark).

Here are the direct recorded examples. I recorded these during the final TM process, switching back and forth between with a footswitch. The cab IR is the Basketweave G12M25 (RW) IIRC. During the examples I adjust the guitar volume to try and get a good tone/gain match. It's not perfect, but it's pretty close.

The main difference here is gain amount on the pedal

Pedal with gain @ 9 OClock

Pedal with gain @ Noon