1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Looper and MIDI Clock

Discussion in 'AX8 Discussion' started by gdgross, Mar 12, 2019.

  1. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Hi all -

    I've never experimented with MIDI clock and time syncing effects before, so I'm diving in over my head for sure with this question, but if the answer is "yes" i'm gonna be super pumped.

    Can I input an external MIDI clock to the AX8 and slave the looper to the MIDI clock? Ideally I'd like it to quantize my on/off stomps to the clock. (But i'll be happy with a mode that, say, records and plays back a couple of bars automatically.)

    The idea being that I'd like to play live to a click, use the looper at the beginning of the song, and have it perfectly in sync with the click 5 minutes later. Is this possible or am I dreaming? (or course assuming a constant tempo for the duration of the song)
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  2. Kylyx

    Kylyx
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    39
    The answer is "Yes" but some of this will depend upon how you are generating the click and the MIDI. I've not used MIDI Time Clock in particular.

    Currently, I play to a click using Set List Maker (SLM) for the iPad. Initially, in my DAW I create an audio file that contains the click. I also create a MIDI file along side it that contains Control Change messages (CC#) that will turn the looper on and off in sync with the click. SLM will play back both the audio file click and midi file in sync for each song you set up. The CC#'s for the looper are on page 95 of the manual.

    I also expand this to changing scenes and presets and turning effects on or off automatically throughout a song for my band mates pedals and devices as well. We even go as far as controlling our own lights using another app called Luminaire that runs on the same iPad and receives MIDI from the same MIDI file.

    Mike
     
    Freds55 and gdgross like this.
  3. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    wow, thanks Mike - I'm gonna check SLM out...

    does it stay in sync well? ie, can you make it to the end of a 5 minute song without too much drift between the click and the loop? I suppose I could set up midi ccs tt restart the loop every several bars or so...
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  4. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    FYI I have this crazy idea for a live vid for my band, starting with a percussion loop, which I'll need to record withe a mic/preamp and run into the axe8.

    Suppose I'll have to make a special preset with loop all left and guitar all right for this one...unless there's another looper pedal out there that accepts midi CCs and mas a mic input...
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  5. Kylyx

    Kylyx
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    39
    The loop will stay in sync indefinitely if you've recorded it to the click.
    Am I correct in thinking that you'd like to begin a song that has a click and then turn on the loop record and grab x amount of bars and then turn off the looper and have that loop keep playing until you turn it off?
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  6. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Exactly right.

    Although I suppose if i have the flexibility of midi turning the looper on/off, then I may actually have a few bars where I stop the loop...we'll see I may just keep it simple too
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  7. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Actually, i probably don't need SLM at all, since I'm just wanting to record this live, probably can just do it all in pro tools.
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  8. Kylyx

    Kylyx
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    39
    I see. What will be generating your click?
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  9. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Well, now that I realize it can be synced, i'll probably just use the click in protools!

    I seriously excited about this, Mike - really appreciate hearing from someone who's done this. And curious about SLM now too for shows haha
     
    Kylyx likes this.
  10. Freds55

    Freds55
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks to both of you!
    I have read your thread and have learned about the looper just from following you guys.
    I have wondered about this very subject and did not no the answer....Thanks :):guitar:
     
    Kylyx likes this.
  11. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Heck, now that I'm settingt his up, I realize that I may as well have PT turn on a few effects for me so I don't have to stomp either. This is amazing.
     
    Kylyx and Freds55 like this.
  12. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    I set up a test session with a midi track in PT last night and was easily able to trigger the looper function in my AX8 via midi over USB, no special cables needed.

    I'm actually going to use the looper to record a percussion loop with a mic, rather than a guitar loop, so I'll need a small external preamp, as well as panning the guitar Left and the looper right in the preset, to record 2 channels of audio (live guitar + percussion loop). I have a preset set up for this, though I haven't tested it yet, with the FX loop feeding the looper block.

    Thanks again Mike. You've changed my life!

    I'll post the vid here when it's done, it better be by apr 15 since we are planning on entering it in to the NPR tiny desk contest this year, hah.
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  13. Kylyx

    Kylyx
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    39
    That's great! Can't wait to see the video as I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around what you're actually doing! LOL
     
    Freds55 likes this.
  14. Freds55

    Freds55
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Florida
    Ok so I have never used midi nor do I know how you would make say a keyboard track start playing when it is supposed too I am a complete newbie to that.
    So any information is good information...:)
     
  15. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    5,844
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Freds55 likes this.
  16. bradlake

    bradlake
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5,385
    Likes Received:
    5,147
    Location:
    Chicago/Miami Beach
    :confused:
    Had a strong feeling that one wouldn’t make it thru the day..........
     
    Freds55 and unix-guy like this.
  17. gdgross

    gdgross
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    lol, not too complicated, just looping some percussion rather than guitar bits, so i need to use a mic/preamp and the FX loop (input 2) in the ax8. I'll also be playing guitar, so I'll pan the guitar left and the loop right for two mono channels rather than one stereo.
     

Share This Page