looking for an active FRFR Wedge.

henryrobinett

Fractal Fanatic
Not another thread about FRFR active cabs! I'm planning to start playing a lot more and need a compact powerful rig. Powerful is debatable. I'm a jazz guitarist who also plays fusion, funk, and a bit if everything. Although some band mates might argue, I don't play THAT loud, certainly not like most rock players.

My rig has been made for convenience and lightness. I have two old passive 1-12 cabs with JBLs. Might Celestians. I can't remember. It's been so long! I have these on the floor behind me, pointing up like wedges. For "power" I use an ancient solid state 2-80 Randall. Even at that it's more volume than I ever need. But the Lower wattage isn't all about volume, is it?

So now I'm thinking about getting a AX8 and two FRFR active wedges. A lot of my small gigs and rehearsals I'd just use one wedge.

I'm concerned with it not being too heavy and being of solid construction. I might want to build cases and be able to throw it (them?) in baggage in a plane! I can put the AX8 in a suitcase.

Tone-wise I'm not a metal guy. I like pronounced low end. I don't want brittle high end. I want warmth. Doesn't everybody?

I have a recording studio with FR powered NHT monitors I love.

Any suggestions

I have heard the Atomic CLR Neos are both light and powerful. If I were to try something else, it would likely be those. I have been using the RCF NX12SMA for years now, and I have no desire to change. Small, powerful, looks great on stage, and replicates anything I send to it well. I wouldn't say it is pronounced in any particular area, but it can be made so by setting what you send it as you want to hear it. Mike at AudioPyle hooked me up with mine (and a great RCF cover) at a nice price point; I recommend him if you go shopping (mike@audiopyle.com). I think Simeon is using a pair of the 10s (NX10SMA) and likes them, if you want a little smaller footprint.