Looking at Axe-Fx for studio

James Lugo

I'm looking into getting into an Axe Fx for the studio. I know very little about the different revisions. I see there's a ll and the newer one is lll. I don't need anything that is crazy midi for live, this is for recording only. Also does the Axe Fx take stereo input and output in stereo? I ask cause my studio board comes out stereo off an Eventide and I want to use this in stereo most of the time.

The new lll is more dough then I wanna spend, I'm looking under $1200 or so, maybe used off Reverb.

Thoughts?

I've had the axe fx2 for several years now. For me, it's best/coolest piece of equipment I own next to my left handed JP6. It does everything I need in the studio. I've recorded guitars and bass with it with no issues.

I'm still a huge noob when it comes to it. I'm sure I've only used about 15% of it's full function. I hope to get the III one day.

I've never used it live. If money is factor, a used II is probably your best bet, you won't be disappointed.

Best of luck

The Axe FX 2 is still a great piece of gear. To clear up any confusion, there were a few iterations of it...the Mark 1 Mark 2 and 2+...some changes in the ports and memory slots would be the broad strokes on the differences. The wiki will have a lot more detail for you...

I use my Axe 2 mark 1 live and for recording...just tracked guitars for a song yesterday in fact...I think it sounds great in both instances. Live I run it into a Matrix GT800fx power amp into a Mesa 4x12...tried direct, tried through an frfr speaker, and just prefer the push of a cab. Anyways, for recording, I just run the xlr outs into an interface. You can also run it via spdif, usb, and several 1/4” and xlr (as mentioned) options. Again, the wiki or a cruise through the manual will fill in the details. Personally, I’ve not been tempted by the Axe 3...I haven’t even updated mine since 2015 ish? Got the sounds I liked and didn’t feel compelled to chase new ones.