Logic recording entire live show using x32

Keg8605

Power User
RECORDING Newbie here: Figuring some of you here should have some extensive experience recording live shows. I want to try recording my bands entire live show (or at least set 1) for the first time.

My setup-
Interface: Behringer x32 Producer USB 16 Channels (All I need)
Computer: Early 2011 Macbook Pro 15 i7 2ghz. Installed 256 gb SSD for OS and placed 500 gb Hard drive in optical bay (5400 RPM)

Recording: Logic Pro X

What I'm wondering is do I need to get an external 7200RPM hard drive to record to or should I be ok with sending it to the installed hard drive?

I had no problems recording one song at practice yesterday with all 16 tracks...however i don't know if it was recording to the HD or SSD. It was awesome to be able to play it all back through the x32 though and have a virtual in ear sound check. Pretty cool.

Thanks for any tips.

I've never had an issue with my win7 laptop and I am recording 32 tracks with my x32 producer using ableton live 9.

Logic writes the buffered audio in to the scratch sub-directory for the project. So as long as the project was saved on the HD, not the SSD, you were recording to the HD and your test was valid.

You may find this handy: http://lightheadsw.com/caffeine/ -- that'll keep the machine alive, no sleeps, for any period of (indefinitely if you wish).

I record on a Windows Vista Machine (which sucks....but it's my beater laptop).
I need to run an external drive when recording 16 tracks from my XRack.
If I try with just my laptop drive....it crashes after a few minutes.
I'm recording 50 minutes straight.

Just my experience. I'm using Sonar by the way.