Learning to play G&R on the AX8

dsouza

Experienced
Ok So I've got a Slash Gibson LP Standard in November Burst , Redsound Elis 8 FRFR Speakers, and and AX8.

I am happy with my AX8 and feel I have got the necessary presets to play good sounding G&R tunes. Some presets are free , some are custom built that I purchased.

People who know me and my work know I have basically focused on U2 the past 13 years of my 20 years experience in addition to a couple of albums of original music.

I am now adding to my focus Guns and Roses.

In particiular the songs:

Knockin on Heavens Doors
You could be mine
Sweet Child of Mine
November Rain

These are all a stark difference from the Edge's primarily slow moving guitar playing with effects backing him up. (Not to take anything away from the Edge.. I have the upmost respect for him)

However, to pull off G&R requires more lead guitar. This is something I'm new to but I understand the basic concepts of hammer ons, pulls offs, slide, sting bending and vibrato, power chords, octaves, Wah wah, etc which power 90% of the songs above.

So I figure I'm going to dedicate the next major portion of my career to mastering some G&R.

Anyone else here learn to play G&R songs on the electric guitar? (Slash fans)?

Any advice for me before I embark on this adventure? How I shoud prep myself or my mental state?

Is playing the music with a bit of attitude really important to putting on a good G&R performance? Or is technical mastery enough?

P.S. G&R is so new to me I wouldn't be surprised if it takes me a good 6 months to a year to "MASTER" each of the instrumentals stated above.
Not that I'm complaining. I love the sound and wouldn't trade it for less practice time.

To learn more about where I'm coming from check out my website: www.AdrianDSouzaRocks.com

Cheers!
Dsouza