Learning how to mix? Any tips?

boltrecords

Fractal Fanatic
I'm getting into home recording and would like to get better at the mixing process. Can anyone recommend any sites or tutorials? Especially in terms of learning to EQ tracks, add compression and effects. Stuff like that. I'm not really sure where to start.

I tried reading some books but it's so technical that it seems way over my head. People I've asked just tell me to eq by ear. But I don't have the chops for that

Any tips or tricks for starting out would be great.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm no pro, but I'm sitting on my first recording right now (will be released soon, will share the link here, it's gonna be free). What's most important is the EQ, that's right. But if you only do it by ear, it's not gonna be enough. You have to have a plan, otherwise the mix won't work. For example for the guitars, there's no need to have very low frequencies, so put a highpass filter on the guitars, Do this for all instruments, for every track. E.g. in the basedrum I cut out all mid frequencies, so it's not just low frequencies.