LCD replacement for Axe II Mark 1

Yeah, about 2 years ago my LCD screen went out on my beloved FX 2 Mark 1, and Fractal along with the local electronics repair shop and everyone else said I was screwed on a replacement. I dropped $500 on an MFC101 thinking that would solve my problems with channel switching, but little did I realize you have to assign it first through the unit itself. Talk about "upset".

I bought a Quad Cortex and keep my Axe-FX 2 in my closet as just a sentimental reminder of some great shows and awesome recorded albums. I still recommend their products regardless, but unless they magically create another run of replacement screens, that's about all mine is good for now.

It was a hell of a 9 year run while it lasted though.

Aside from being a guitarist I make electronic /sample based music and have used various Akai mpc's over the years.
When Akai stopped making parts MPC stuff stepped up their aftermarket game and has a screen reverse engineered in China that works perfectly and is affordable, giving new life to many faded MPC's out in the wild.
I really find it hard to believe that Fractal can't do this on their own or sub contract it out to someone that can manufacture it under license.
To have a perfectly functioning unit dead in a closet because of a screen after less that 10 years of use really sucks and is also environmentally disastrous.
I seriously doubt it was planned obsolescence on Fractal's part, But it's time for them to reevaluate maintenance and repair policies for legacy units instead of saying sorry you SOL, buy our newest model.
Exhibit A
Search MPC 2000 replacement screen/MPC stuff to see what I am referring to as the forum will not let me post the link

Last edited: