1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

I've lost Left Output 1

Discussion in 'Ultra/Std Discussion' started by Teddyzee, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. Teddyzee

    Teddyzee
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder if someone can help me troubleshoot.

    Using Axe-Fx Ultra.

    At the gig tonight, my Ground Control (old school two row/12 button job) stopped responding. It would not reboot- the screen would display the first startup word, but none of the pedal buttons light or any other function.

    Okay, gear breaks all the time. Quickly selected one of my dirty lead patches, and I will just ride the volume on the guitar.
    Eventually I get word that the guitar is no longer in the PA, no level at the FOH board. I had popped my earbuds out for some reason, otherwise I would have noticed this immediately.

    Rebooting/power cycling the Axe-Fx did not solve this issue.
    Unplugged the MIDI cable, checked both ends of the XLR... Usual stuff...

    Setup is Axe-Fx, phantom power through a 7 pin to the ground control, Output 1 (mono, left channel) to the PA (Yamaha O1V 96 mixer onstage), Output 2 to a power amp/Marshall 412.

    I grabbed a mic out of my stash for the 412 and finished the gig that way.

    No other outputs were affected, only 1L. All inputs and internal meters work. Output 1R works fine when checked after the gig.

    Strange- the pedal board would not work when powered by a second known working adapter. Dragged it home- yes, it now works, using the adapter from my rack that goes to the Fractal.

    I was scratching head wondering what could have happened. Then I thought, maybe phantom power from the mixer did all of this? I did a ton of searching once I got home, read about protection diodes on the outputs of the Fractal.
    Would some sort of surge get through the midi cable to the pedal? No other mics or anything seemed affected.

    Now that I've written a book, any thoughts?

    Thanks.
     
  2. paranoid

    paranoid
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,997
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    florida
    have you looked at your patches to make sure that when the midi controller acted up that it did not pan or lower volume in patches some how? double check your I/o settings. global settings.
     
  3. Teddyzee

    Teddyzee
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought that may have been the case, but all the meters show output.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. paranoid

    paranoid
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,997
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    florida
    well I don't know probably should contact support see what they think!
     
  5. Teddyzee

    Teddyzee
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correction, Ground Control does not work, but will go through it's start routine. If that matters.
     
  6. Daveh86

    Daveh86
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey mate did you end up finding a solution to this I use mine 4cm into triaxis and I’ve got the same problem
     

Share This Page