Issue With MFC Ethernet Jack

Vhalen50

Experienced
Hey everyone, i emailed support about this but wanted to see if anyone else had experience with this.

I have discovered now that my ethernet jack is broken. The two clips on the side to hold the cables in have apparently snapped off and was wondering if there was any possibility to replace it myself?

I got my MFC about a month or two before the mark 2 with ethercon came out. I would have much rather preferred ethercon and was going to get those neutrik jacks, but never got around to it. The story is that ive been using a best tronics cable for a few months now and recently at an out of town show, some guy stole it (i have no real idea why but it was sitting on my pedal board as we were loading out). Because of our show schedule, i didnt have time to order a new one from best tronics causing me to use a home internet cable, from best buy im pretty positive. But I remember trying to use these way back when and they just wouldnt "click" to stay in. Well the MFC side clicked rather easily but the axe fx side was always a chore, got it to work though. We got back from another out of town show and were setting up to practice and i noticed that my ethernet cable wouldnt stay in, thought maybe that end was just bad....both sides dont work, it just slides right out.

I reaaaaaaaly dont want to have to use the power supply because I use a very compact rig; a 4 space rack bag filled with my axe fx 2, matrix gt1000 and a power conditioner/wireless depending on the night. If i use my power conditioner, the wart is too big to fit in the back and doesnt fit on the front, plus it makes setup and tear down awful. Before it was just one cable to the front of the stage and I was done (which helps alot with some of the places we play).

any help/thoughts would be appreciated.

I performed this modification as well. Thanks Patzag for blazing the trail for us!