Input Needed - Using CLR's for small club/FOH

zionplayer

Inspired
We are starting a band and will be needing a sound system for FOH. Plan to play smaller venues for the most part, and will rent stuff for larger halls if we book one.

My idea is to get two powered CLR's that I could use with my FX II at home for great sound, then maybe pole mount them and add subs for a FOH system at pubs/clubs (maybe up to 100-150 people size). We are thinking to go all IEM and maybe the Behringer x32 rack (hope that x32 sounds really good; what a huge value it seems to be).

As I am new to all of this gear (except the Axe! Love it) I would appreciate comments on this approach - good and bad. Would it be loud enough? Can I hook up subs with the CLR's somehow? I know the sound quality should be excellent from what I have read so far.

Many thanks!

Seems like a good idea. However, you should check up the venues you want to play at first before taking this into consideration. Depending on what and where you are playing, you might almost never need to bring your own monitoring.

Don't get me wrong: having a consistent FOH system for every show is great and all, but it's a pain in the ass from a logistical point of view. 90% of the time venues got their own stuff and don't want you to bring yours.

You can, however, use the CLRs for your personal monitoring on stage and use a mini mixer to set the levels, if you want to be independent from the sound guy.

But as a rule of thumb (when you are playing smaller venues): keep it simple.
Midi controller, your most versatile guitar, Axe, cables. That's all you need.