Indy Artist/Engineer/Producer looks at the AXE FX II

Steck

My Background

I’ve been playing and writing since 1973, and engineering/producing since 1979. My intention was to be a musician and songwriter, but I got seduced into engineering and producing. As an engineer I started in the 1” MCI eight track realm; I worked for 5+ years on Music Row, mostly in 2" 24 track studios. I did everything: cutting, overdubbing, mixing, and in a multitude of genres from Reggae to Rock and beyond; recorded everything from drum kits to bullhorns in the stairwell (yep, someone called the cops! :twisted ), 24-piece string sections, 100 member choirs. I made masters for actual vinyl records, jingles, demos, you name it.

Nope, I don’t have any gold or platinum records to my credit, or Grammies – I was just one of hundreds of experienced engineers working in Nashville, making things happen.

During that time, I primarily played keyboards, but, whatever I could do for a gig in the studio, I'd do. I picked up some project work in the computer realm, and soon 100% of my energy was focused on writing code and building electronic things – from analog audio to digital data acquisition. I’ve written x86 and z80 assembler code, basic, pascal, fortran, perl, etc., built networks, installed routers and servers, sysoped bulletin boards....

Then, there was the long hiatus...