I need your thoughts....

I am considering picking up an MFC-101 mkII as I can find one for less than $500. I have an Axe-Fx II XL+. I know the mkII will work fine with it, but is it more worth my time to save up for the mkIII? What are the pros and cons of going with one vs. the other? The major factor for me is saving about $200.

I am also considering a Voodoo Labs Ground Control Pro, but I am not sure if it is compatible with scenes, and I’ve never programmed a MIDI controller before, so I like that the MFC is essentially plug and play.

The MkII will be an excellent controller for the XL you have. Much more so than the Voodoo Labs unit.

I wouldn’t sweat the MkII vs MkIII differences if you can get a MkII at a good price. You can add a FASLink box to take advantage of XLR connectivity and the switches are just fine in the older units.

I got a III because I wanted the easy capability to access scenes with the bottom row without the Reveal button.

Just so there's no ambiguity: you can do this with a MkI and MkII MFC as well.
I’ve been reading about the reveal function in the manual and have found in section 5.5 of the manual where it says that the reveal function only works in conjunction with the preset switches. I was under the impression that all of the foot switches could have a second function (via reveal) whether IA, preset or otherwise.

I’ve been reading about the reveal function in the manual and have found in section 5.5 of the manual where it says that the reveal function only works in conjunction with the preset switches. I was under the impression that all of the foot switches could have a second function (via reveal) whether IA, preset or otherwise.
The manual is correct. Reveal only works with preset switches. So you can reveal IA switches "underneath" preset switches.