I need some education...

torkolort

Inspired
A little background:

I have very little experience with amps and gear. I have owned a Mesa Boogie Nomad 55, which never gave me the sound I wanted (I'm a Petrucciholic). First of all I guess that particular amp was not the right choice. Secondly I had no idea how to tweak it. After that I tried a Line6 PodXT which worked better for me because I could download patches from others. Still I was not satisfied because it didn't sound "real" enough. Then I finally got the Axe-Fx 8 months ago, and I'm confident this is one of the best purchases I've ever done :) I knew I was not technically qualified for this device, but when I heard the samples people had uploaded I just insta-bought it :p Even though it's hard for me to use it, I'm really really satisfied!

So after 8 months of confusion I think it's time I figured out a couple of things, that I've been too embarrassed to ask before :oops: Obviously, I have learned a lot since I got it, but I'm just barely scratching the surface. It may seem unreal to you that I even need to ask such questions, but though I've played guitar for many years, I've just never had the urge to understand the technical aspects of amps and sound. I kinda know my way around the "Basic" page of the amp block, but the "Advanced" and "Amp Geek" I've never even touched because I have no idea what those parameters mean. I have done a lot of researching both on the forum and in the wiki, and I've figured out a lot that way, and on my own. But the problem is that it's often hard for me to understand the answers, because I'm still not used to the terminology. Please keep this in mind...

- I've downloaded many different patches from other users, and some of them are real tight and perfect for rhythm parts. Other patches are not that tight, have more noise and is more difficult to play. How is this tightness achieved?