1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

I know it's been asked-but AX8-

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Stratman68, Jul 24, 2015.

  1. Mr.Stratocaster

    Mr.Stratocaster
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    41
    Will AX8 include at least some simple digital connections except USB? It will be really cool if SPDIF output will not be removed... Even very old guitar processors like Johnson J-Station has it onboard. Cliff, please, leave it unremoved.
     
  2. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    It has SPDIF.

    FWIW, units are in production and on schedule for October.
     
  3. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    Yes.
     
  4. Stratman68

    Stratman68
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,133
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    Just keeps getting better and better........................I like it!
     
  5. count_chocolat

    count_chocolat
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Canuckistan
    Let me know and I'll drive down to get the first one... I'll even throw in some montreal smoked meat and a 24 of beer.
     
    acidfrost likes this.
  6. acidfrost

    acidfrost
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    175
    Hello fellow Montrealer!
     
  7. count_chocolat

    count_chocolat
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    Canuckistan
    Howdy.
     
  8. Mr.Stratocaster

    Mr.Stratocaster
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    41
    Wow!! Really cool news, Cliff!!! Are there any information about dimensions and weight of the AX8 ? I'm really curious about that.
     
  9. jhuggins

    jhuggins
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, not sure where else to post this. Any indication the AX-8 will have a headphone out? I've been waiting for a product just like this. Really I need something for practice and most of the time that is through head phones with only the occasional jam session. I know if all else fails I can just get a headphone amp but I'd prefer a more practical solution.
     
  10. ethomas1013

    ethomas1013
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,714
    Likes Received:
    1,202
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yes, a headphone out would be cool. We haven't seen a pic of the back yet...
     
  11. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    It does not have a headphone output but the outputs should be able to drive phones with ease. You'd just need a Y-cable adapter.
     
    Lopp, paulasbell, soheil and 5 others like this.
  12. NickCormier

    NickCormier
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    I apologize if it was already mentioned in a previous thread (I don't check these forums other than for AX8 updates) - Will there be a usb interface inside the AX8 like the AxeFX has?
     
  13. RoshRoslin

    RoshRoslin
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Will the AX8 have connections to go direct to FOH and go to a power amp using the FX Loop block to get direct to FOH (with cab IR) via Output 1 and also go to a power amp and power a traditional guitar cab (Without Cab IR) via output 2 like the AxeFX?
     
    Smilzo likes this.
  14. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    Yes.
     
    vulcan32, Lopp, voes and 2 others like this.
  15. d2dark

    d2dark
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Seriously let me know if you drive at fractal HQ to get you, we can split the gas.
     
  16. Mr.Stratocaster

    Mr.Stratocaster
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    41
    But will it be possible to send signal without poweramp modelling to Output 2 and signal with poweramp modelling to Output 1? It is really important feature to have.
     
    Smilzo likes this.
  17. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,715
    Likes Received:
    16,810
    it probably has the same functionality as the Axe-Fx II, unless they specifically added a "global power amp" option, which i doubt.

    here is how to do it currently: Axe-Fx to PA System and Guitar Amp & Cab Simultaneously
     
  18. NickCormier

    NickCormier
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    5
    Few more questions, mise well try while answers are coming..

    Can you mention exact dimensions? Is it the same size as the FX8 enclosure?

    USB interface included inside, or will we need a separate interface for recording?

    Price?? Will the waiting list be available soon?
     
  19. Mr.Stratocaster

    Mr.Stratocaster
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    41
    Sorry, I can't open the link... don't know why it doesn't work. I think you are using two amps (one with poweramp sim off and one with poweramp sim on) to go to PA and to return of tube head. But AX8 will have only one amp as far as I know... so that's why I can't understand how the ability to have both poweramp sim on and poweramp sim off signals to go at the same time.
     
  20. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,715
    Likes Received:
    16,810
    you're right. if there's only 1 amp block, you can't run a 2nd (obv!) with Sag set to PA OFF.

    having the virtual power amp on with an amp/cab setup seems to only affect a small portion of users. majority report that having the power amp set on is actually better. i've seen that some mesa power amps and similar prefer it off though.

    oh well, we'll have to wait and see, but that might become a wish list item at launch, unless they added global PA Off like i mentioned before.
     

Share This Page