I destroy CLRs

ninja9

Inspired
Well, I've had 3 faulty ones in about a year. I had faults like high pitch squeals and intermittent sound etc.

I typically run them with master volume less than half way. I keep them in a padded case. I am a professional guitarist and know how to look after gear!

The Australian distributer says they don't get many back for repair, so I guess I'm just unlucky or something.

I love them, wish I could trust them.

We have 240v mains in Australia and the units are supposed to be built for that but with power spikes that could be a problem.

Has anyone else had problems?

Reactions: Ole
One of my two powered wedges failed within a month (had them about a year now) . Tom King was great to work with and had me back up within a week or two and haven't had an issue since.

I thought it was just the UK that had 230v power? When I say this I mean no offence at all, but is this to do with Australia being a former UK colony?

I once went to Oz. I got into the arrival gate where I was met by the most straight faced sour puss who was as ugly as her upward inflection was irritating. The conversation went a bit like this...

"Is this your first time to Australia?"
"Yes it is"
"Business or pleasure"
"Business"
"Do you have any criminal convictions?"
"I didn't think that you still needed any"

I spent 15 minutes being given a full cavity search by a guy who had really big fingers.

True story.

maybe looking into a power regulator / conditioner would be beneficial. not just a power strip, but a real regulator, not cheap, but might be worth it for your situation.

Might be some early production issues, but I am sure they'll get them worked out. RCF had similar problems early on with the NX12SMA, but later models were pretty much bulletproof in my experience. Hang in there, I am sure it's more a run of bad fortune than a lasting issue with the CLR. I've heard many great things on them.

I typically run them with master volume less than half way.