Hierarchy of Pre-fx

Adinfinitum

Experienced
I've been playing guitar for 35 years and would like some opinions on this. I know there are no absolute rules when it comes to order of Fx before the preamp, but in general

Noise gate
Compressor
Wah

Now here is my main question, which goes before the other most of the time

Boost/OD or

Mod Fx (phaser, chorus, flanger, trem)

I know these can go post preamp (FX loop) but generally, I like mods before the preamp.

What sayeth you.

My typical chain in the Fractal would be:

wah -> drive -> comp -> phase / vibe -> peq -> amp -> peq -> cab -> geq -> chorus -> rotary -> delay -> reverb

I don't have every block in every preset but that is my typical order.

Explanation:
- the wah block sounds better to me first
- I prefer compression after drive (with my analog rig too) I like playing the pick dynamics into a drive pedal. In the Fractal I don't use compression as much as with my analog rig either.
- phase shifter and univibe sound better to me before the amp.
- I often use pre and post eq to influence the amp character. I prefer explicit blocks so it's easy for me to activate / deactivate vs. using the amp block geq as one of them.
- the geq after the cab block is to boost mids and levels when I want to make the preset louder with a footswitch. It's not a boost because it doesn't change the amp distortion.
- the Fractal chorus's are lush. Much prefer those post amp.
- the delay and reverb have more clarity post amp for what I like

My typical chain in the Fractal would be:

wah -> drive -> comp -> phase / vibe -> peq -> amp -> peq -> cab -> geq -> chorus -> rotary -> delay -> reverb

I don't have every block in every preset but that is my typical order.

Explanation:
- the wah block sounds better to me first
- I prefer compression after drive (with my analog rig too) I like playing the pick dynamics into a drive pedal. In the Fractal I don't use compression as much as with my analog rig either.