Here's a Tip for anybody who wants more dynamics and pick attack

GotMetalBoy

Power User
Hello Axe-Fx IIers!

I'm sharing a technique I have been using for many years w/ modelers to get more dynamics and pick attack.

Here is what I do: (NOTE: Input Noise Gate info can be found on page 113 and INSTR IN on page 133 in the manual)
1. Make sure your INSTR IN level is set correctly, so it rarely hits the red
2. Make sure for this example Gate/Expander [GTE] is disabled
3. Set the Input Noise Gates THRESH high: -10dB (ex: -20dB to -0dB)
4. Set the RATIO low: 2.0 (ex: 2.0 to 3.0)
5. Set the ATTACK fast: 1ms (ex: 1ms to 10ms)
6. Set the RELEASE medium: 200ms (ex: 100ms to 500ms)
7. Select a medium or high gain Amp model like the Brit JVM or Brit Pre and set the DRIVE to 8.0
8. Now start picking soft and then gradually harder. You should be able go from gritty clean to saturated distortion

What we’re essentially doing is using the Input Noise Gates as an Expander. With the threshold set high, it’s applying the effect to almost your entire instruments signal. The Ratio setting will set the amount dynamics you get, so if it’s set to 2: you’ve doubled your dynamics, 3: tripled, 4: quadrupled... If you find you can’t get enough gain or your sound is decaying too fast, try raising the Release. If you are getting a lot of noise b/c you are using a high gain Amp w/ Drive set high, you can add a Gate/Expander [GTE] after the Amp Block and set the SCSEL(sidechain) to Input 1.