Here is my DIY Arduino based MIDI foot controller for Axe-Fx

Hello everyone,
this is my DIY midi foot controller based on Arduino Mega. It was funny and a great challenge to make it.
I am not a software engineer but I had several experiences with Arduino for my hobbies.
At the moment I use it with my old but still rocking Axe-Fx Ultra, and it totally bring new life to it. It should be easy to update it for the next generations if needed.

Hardware features:
  • 8 fully programmable buttons
  • 8 LCD displays, one for each button. Upper row is the "press and release" label, lower row is the "hold" label
  • 1 main LCD
  • 2 expression pedals inputs
  • 4 opto-isolated contacts for channel amp switching
  • stainless steel chassis

Main software features:
  • retrieve Axe-Fx patch names
  • retrieve Axe-Fx effects blocks and their status. This is the very game changing feature because every layout modification in the Axe-Fx is reflected on the pedalboard without any user intervention
  • Axe-Fx tuner on main LCD
  • each button can have multiple functions on press and hold event
  • assignable functions are: program change, control change, control change with note on/off, external switches toggle, change layout or bank
  • the press or hold function of each button can be automatically assigned to the blocks used in the active preset. You can choose what blocks to display and their priority.
  • buttons can be organized in different layouts, at the moment I am using 3 of them: one for preset change, one for effects and one for the looper.

The configuration is hard-coded for now, it is easily editable but a re-compile and re-flash is needed.
If someone is interested in going more deep I will be happy to explain.

Attachments

• layout0.jpg
    layout0.jpg
    509.9 KB · Views: 198
  • layout1.jpg
    layout1.jpg
    569.4 KB · Views: 189
  • layout2.jpg
    layout2.jpg
    551.7 KB · Views: 159
  • tuner.jpg
    tuner.jpg
    605.6 KB · Views: 177