1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Help with Input1 level

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by bishop5150, Mar 29, 2018.

  1. bishop5150

    bishop5150
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    4,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Dooes it look like I’m clipping Input 1 to much in the video below? I’ve got it set at 12.0% in the I/O menu same as what I have in my AX8 although in the AX8 it only let’s you choose 0, 6, 12, 18. I cant remember what I had it set on in my XL and I’ve sold it. Thanks for your help.
     
  2. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,715
    Likes Received:
    16,812
    the AX8 sets a gain reduction, so it's a bit different - the values won't match up between Axe-Fx and AX8. the Axe3 input is a bit more sensitive (which means more headroom), so lower values than the Axe2 aren't a bad thing.

    your video shows what i think is fine. maybe reduce a bit more if you just don't want to see that red light. but it's been advised not to go 5% or lower as it can affect gain/tone. maybe 9 or 10% and you'll not get the red light?
     
    bishop5150 likes this.
  3. bishop5150

    bishop5150
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    4,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    The red light isn’t bothering me and it’s only really flashing on deliberately hard downstrokes on the the power chords. It’s more tickling the red which I always thought was ok in the past. But does that still apply to the III?
     
  4. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,715
    Likes Received:
    16,812
    as far as i know, yes. but the manual does say "NOTE: In contrast to our previous products, the red LEDs now all come on at -1 dBFS and are therefore a more immediate indication of clipping."

    i feel dumb not knowing exactly what it means, but i think it means that it doesn't come on quite as early as it used to. so if it's red, it's still not necessarily clipping, but pretty close.

    i still think what you had set was just fine.
     
    bishop5150 likes this.
  5. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    That's perfect.
     
    Hofi, volothamp and bishop5150 like this.
  6. bishop5150

    bishop5150
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    4,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ok cool. As always thanks for the help guys. Hope you have a great holiday weekend!
     
  7. Rick

    Rick
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    3,333
    Location:
    Fractalonia, Texas, USA
    I'm getting the same, just a blip of red when I bang hard on the strings. It's working good on the presets I've played through.
     
    bishop5150 likes this.
  8. bishop5150

    bishop5150
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    4,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I’m just blown away by this thing. I was sold on using the Legacy EVH cabs 160 and 162 since that’s what I’ve been using for a couple of years now for gigging but I just rebuilt my gigging preset using the stock 5153 100 watt blue preset with Factory 2 cabs 349 and 330. Just wow.
     
    hippietim and REDD like this.
  9. cobbler

    cobbler
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    4,645
    Location:
    The desert
    12.0%? Wow!

    Mine is set at 95.3% :)
     
  10. marshall2553

    marshall2553
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    NC
    What kind of pickups are you using? I'm using low output humbuckers with it set around 25% and I still get red when I hit it hard.
     
    bishop5150 likes this.
  11. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5,114
    Likes Received:
    5,547
    My Abby CS69s don’t even hit red ever at 100% lol
     
  12. bdrepko

    bdrepko
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    I get the same exact behavior.
     
  13. bishop5150

    bishop5150
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,583
    Likes Received:
    4,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I’m using EMG’s.
     
  14. JustinAiken

    JustinAiken
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Utah
    I have it at 18% for a Seymour Duncan Custom III humbucker - any higher, and I get red on hard strums
     
  15. hippietim

    hippietim
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    3,034
    I've mostly been using my PRS Hollowbody which has their 5708 pickups which are like PAFs and my Input is set at noon.
     
  16. El Creepo

    El Creepo
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    158
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    I have a Duncan Distortion in my Charvel and am having to set it really low with that.
     
  17. AtomicBlaze

    AtomicBlaze
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    199
    Is it possible to use drive or boost pedals in front of the Axe-Fx III, or will it clip? I was thinking of buying a couple drives that aren't in the Axe.
     
  18. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    There is no single optimum setting. If you have hot pickups with thick strings and a heavy hand you may need to set it at 10% or less. If you have vintage single-coils with thin strings and a light touch, 100%. Adjust it to tickle the red when playing hard.
     
  19. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,938
    Likes Received:
    85,461
    Yes. The input can handle up to +/- 5V which is greater than any 9V pedal can deliver.
     
    GreatGreen likes this.
  20. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,715
    Likes Received:
    16,812
    If using a Drive pedal that boosts the level, do we just ignore any clipping on the input meter and just make sure it doesn’t clip with the guitar only? It would be logical that an overdrive pedal would cause clipping right?
     

Share This Page