1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Help setting up Jam Origin Midi Guitar 2

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by ExtremeTestosterone, Feb 18, 2018.

  1. ExtremeTestosterone

    ExtremeTestosterone
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    49
    Is anyone else here using this? I need some help setting it up. For input device I am using Axe fx 2 input and for output device I am using Axe Fx 2 output. I am getting no sound. Can anyone help?
     
  2. JJunkie

    JJunkie
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    499
    I think you need to give a more complete description of your recording setup. Are you using vst or standalone etc. But shouldnt the "input device" be axe fx output and the "output device" be the DAW master out or speakers??
     
  3. JJunkie

    JJunkie
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    499
    See above i just forgot to quote you

     
  4. vaultnaemsae

    vaultnaemsae
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    39
    As JJunkie said, you'll need to be a bit more specific about how you're trying to/intending to use it. More than happy to help with setup once you let us know that.

    MG2 works quite well for me in an Ableton Live 9 'Live Set' with the Axe-Fx II as the Audio In/Out source (USB connection). I set MG2 up on its own audio channel with no instrument loaded in the GUI. That channel takes a direct signal from the Axe (In 3) and then the MIDI from MG2 is routed to other VST instrument tracks. All audio returns through the Axe-Fx. It's pretty neat.
     
  5. ExtremeTestosterone

    ExtremeTestosterone
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    49
    Thanks for the quick replies. Right now I am using the trial version which is just a stand alone. However, if I really like it I plan on using it in reaper in conjunction with my VSTis. Okay, so for the Interface I have it set to:
    Device FAS USB ASIO Driver
    Channel - In 1 Out 1/2
    Output - Axe FX II Midi Out
    Control - Axe FX2 Midi in
    Channel - Any/Omni

    I am still confused as to why there is no sound. Do I have to somehow link it to Reaper?
     
  6. vaultnaemsae

    vaultnaemsae
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    39
    Device FAS USB ASIO Driver --> Open the ASIO DRIVER setting and ensure Axe FX is selected in ASIO settings (I'd put my money on this being the problem...)
    Channel - In 1 | Out 1/2 - OK
    Output - Axe FX II Midi Out - Why? Not sure why you'd do this - Axe-Fx is not a MIDI tone generator.
    Control - Axe FX2 Midi in - Why? Are you using a controller attached to the Axe to control MG2?
    Channel - Any/Omni - Depends on what you're trying to do

    How are you monitoring Audio? Headphones? Studio Monitors? Guitar Amp?
    Are the Windows audio settings showing the Axe-Fx as your output?
    Can you hear the instrument inputting to the Axe?
    Do you have your Output 1 Level up on the Axe?

    Try selecting a patch from inside MG2 like 'Acoustic Piano'. Its settings should just work...

    Any clues yet?
     
  7. bondsong

    bondsong
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Coquitlam, BC
    You can't use the stand-alone version with Reaper or any other DAW. Maybe you can take a screen shot of the "Interface" page in the app. If you're not hearing anything you have a wrong setting. Follow vaultnaemsae"s advice.

    BTW you don't need to use it in Reaper to use your VSTI's unless you're recording of course. The VSTI's are available in the stand-alone version also.
     
  8. pniveiro

    pniveiro
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I bought the midi guitar 2 and it really is very good but I have a problem. The fact is that I can not stop hearing the sound of my guitar while the midi sounds. Its not good because you do not get the feeling that you are playing the virtual instrument. I've seen videos where the guitar sounds and not others. I do not know if you can think of what the reason may be. I tried it with the standalone and with the Reaper loading kontakt but nothing. As an audio driver I use an ax fx2.

    Thank you very much friends!!
     
  9. bondsong

    bondsong
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Coquitlam, BC
    How do you have the mix set on the MIDI Guitar 2 page? It should be hard right.
     
  10. Elektropeasant

    Elektropeasant
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    10
    I just saw this thread, and don't mean to derail it, but here is a complete nooob and probably very stupid question: I have an Axe-FX II and a laptop with JamOrigin MidiGuitar. Is the Axe-FX the only thing I need here, or do I need a dedicated sound card for the laptop as well? I want to use the Axe with a regular power amp and cab for the guitar sounds, and two active Electrovoice monitors for the JamOrigin output.
     

Share This Page