Help recording via USB into Logic-LOUD HISS

SJW

Bought my Axe Fx3 couple weeks ago and love it. Finally got all my sounds programmed to play live. Few days ago started the next chapter, recording. Plugged the USB into my Imac, opened up Logic Express 9, created a track, hit the record button and BAM! input levels maxed out in the red and a really loud hissing noise with only a faint guitar sound in the background. I'll admit I'm not tech savvy(I still play CD's), but I've tried many solutions. In Logic preferences I have Axe Fx 3 as input and output so it is recognizing it. So my guess is I'm not setting up the Imac to correctly recognize the Axe Fx. My OS is El Capitan 10.11 if that matters. Or maybe I'm not setting up the I/O's correctly on the Axe Fx. Watched a lot of vids and searched the forum, can't seem to find the answer. Appreciate any suggestions.

You have an audio loop somewhere. Is the master output in logic going into the IN 1 of the axe fx 3 ? Post a screenshot of the IO settings in logic.

Check the clock setting. If it is expecting 48k sample clock and not getting it, it will make a nasty static/pink noise kind of hiss.
I was hooking up SPDIF to test it, and I set the Axe to use that 48k instead of internal, and forgot about it. Next day I removed the cable but forgot to reset the sample clock to internal, and nearly panicked when it HISSSSSSSSSed at me. The cat? Departed in great haste for parts unknown.... :D

Axe Fx pics (1).JPG

Attachments

• Axe Fx pics (2).JPG
    Axe Fx pics (2).JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 25
  • Axe Fx pics (4).JPG
    Axe Fx pics (4).JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 27
  • Axe Fx pics (5).JPG
    Axe Fx pics (5).JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 27
  • Axe Fx pics (3).JPG
    Axe Fx pics (3).JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 25
@SJW Turn off “software monitoring” in logic

If that doesn’t work, try setting the main output in logic to “None”. Does the noise go away ?