Help! I updated my Axe FX II and it ruined everything

GLDF

So I was about to fix everything so that I could record with my Axe FX II XL on my new laptop. By this I mean installing the Axe FX II drivers etc. etc. Everything has always functioned extremly well on my stationary PC.

So I tried to open Axe-Edit just to check it was all connected well. It told me to upgrade the Firmware on the Axe FX. So I did and the update seemed to have gone well. The update was completed, and the Axe-Edit did its thing when it re-reads all the boxes and stuff.

Then the first thing I noticed, is that I start playing, and my tone sounds so much shittier. I can't put my finger on it, but it's way worse. I get mad and I pray that I'll be able to re-create the tone. But then it got worse.

I reconnected everything back to my ordinary PC instead. I launch Cubase, choose Axe FX II as a driver, I press play on the project and I hear nothing. At first I thought there was no volume at all. Then I realized there was, but I had to MAX my Output 1 knob on the Axe FX all the way in order to hear the tiniest bit of what I was playing from the computer. However, the volume from the guitar was still loud.

I don't know if the problems are connected somehow, or what the hell I can do to fix at least problem #2 about the volume. 'Cause right now, I can't record, because I can barely hear anything. This all happened directly after the update.

I'm gonna panic if this doesn't get fixed. Any help would be extremly helpful! :(

I reconnected everything back to my ordinary PC instead. I launch Cubase, choose Axe FX II as a driver, I press play on the project and I hear nothing. At first I thought there was no volume at all. Then I realized there was, but I had to MAX my Output 1 knob on the Axe FX all the way in order to hear the tiniest bit of what I was playing from the computer. However, the volume from the guitar was still loud.

:(
Have you checked the USB return level in the I/O Audio menu?