Having trouble with a latching footswitch

is9582

Power User
Hello-
I seemed to be having exactly the same problem as Gibson335 (I am even using some of my old Boogie MkIIc footswitches for this purpose) was initially describing in his topic. I set mine up to toggle the Global Bypass, but nothing seemed to be working when clicked. After beating my head against the wall, I finally decided to change what the footswitch controls. I set it to toggle to the tuner, as that would be extremely obvious whether it worked or not. When I clicked the footswitch, it immediately changed to the tuner. Now that I know my footswitch and cable works, I guess I'm wondering how to accomplish my original intent. I'm still really new to the Axe-FX Ultra, so is there anyway to handle toggling off/on a group of blocks (or features) with this latching switch? I've got some patches that at least seem to have multiple blocks bypassed, so .... HELP!!

I appreciate everyone's assistance,

Lee

Were any blocks stored as bypassed in the presets you were testing? Those are what get controlled as a group by the global bypass function. If everything's stored as active the switch would have nothing to do for that preset.

Bakerman-
Thanks for the reply. I went back to the patches I was working with, to verify in fact there were blocks stored in the bypass mode. There are and from what I can see, they should be obvious in the mix (both flanger and phaser are stored bypassed.

Since I am fairly new to this system, can a block be stored in bypass, that don't fall under the "Global Bypass" function? Let's say I store a block in bypass, and only want it triggered by a IA or CC signal (I hope I'm making at least a little sense, and not sounding totally stupid). Is this a possibility? Just trying to make some sense of this, since I'd verified the physical footswitch was working properly when set to trigger the tuner.

Thank you again for the expertise.

Lee