Harmonizer in the Axe FX 2

pablito

Inspired
Hello Axe FX 2 lovers and users.
I need some kind of assistance. I have not managed to get a good harmonizer effect on the Axe FX 2 for my rock solos. I am looking into buying an Eventide H9 or Pitchfactor. Any advise? What am I missing in the Axe FX2?
I must admit that I am not good at making my own patches. Most of my patches are Yek's and Fremen's ones.
BTW Cliff, Fractal is the best unit I have owned for years. I wished I had more time to use it.

the axe harmoniser smokes. even better than the eventide eclipse, if you ask me. if you're not getting good results, then you're doing it wrong. explain what you need and we'll explain how you set it up

I'll be looking forward to this thread and your answers! I'm also stumped by the Axe's harmonizer, and all my feeble attempts to use it have led to toy-quality, unnatural sounds (not blaming the Axe, but rather blaming myself for beeing a poor tweaker).

I tried the harmonizer in front of the amp block, in front of two *different* amp blocks (where my instinct told me it would sound best), I've tried it between the amp and cab blocks (where it was recommended by some forumites), and I've tried it after the cab... all I managed to do was make it sound like I was mixing special sound effects from the movie Tron (the original!) with my guitar tone. Not good, that!

So any replies to the original poster will be appreciated by others too! Thanks...

yes, you'll hear a lot of different opinions on where the pitch block should go, but for me it sounds best after the amp and cabs. here's a quick preset with the harmoniser set to E Aeolian. sounds great to me...

Attachments

• Plexi Lead (E Aeolian).syx
    6.3 KB · Views: 331
I find the harmonizer better between amp and cab blocks. Like simeon said, I think it's a matter of taste.

Hello Axe FX 2 lovers and users.