Guitar Consistency for Learning?

toesalad

Inspired
I am a relatively new guitarist (almost 3 years now) and got a late start in life, picking the instrument up for the first time in my mid-forties. I practice a lot and am making steady progress (though sometimes it feels excruciatingly slow!). My current favorite (and only) electric guitar is a Strandberg, after several iterations of various brands/models. I have had it for about a year now and still really like it, I don’t see myself getting rid of it any time soon (or ever really).

My guitar has two humbuckers and I have started to think about getting something with single coils to start filling out my collection. One thing that I am concerned about is the potential for more variables to negatively impact my learning progress. If I get another guitar from a different brand, do you think the subtle differences in neck shape, scale length, bridge position, etc. will slow my progress because I will be spending more time adapting to multiple instruments? As I steadily work on things like string muting, legato, and other techniques that take a ton of practice, fractions of a mm can make a big difference between something that sounds good and something that sounds like crap.

Will changing things up, rotating through more than one instrument slow me down? Should I spend more time focusing on a single instrument for a while before branching out? I could always get a singe-coil Strandberg to keep things consistent, but I am not sure how important consistency is in the early stages of learning.

You're overanalyzing this, I think. Differences between guitars is a fact of life. If anything, playing different guitars will teach your hands to feel when you're playing right, instead of relying on "to play this next note, I need to lower my finger 6.7 millimeters."