Great power amp options for axe fx3?

Lalva23re

Hey there everyone I need some help. I just purchased my first Axe (AxeFX 3 MK 2) earlier this year and have been trying to complete my setup, but I am having trouble deciding on the power amp to pair it with. I will be using a diesel 4x12 Cab with my axe. Originally I wanted the matrix GT1600fx but those are out of stock and was told by matrix they will be out of stock for a long time. They do have the gt1000fx 1u unit available at the moment but not sure if this is the one I should settle for. Ive seen other notable mentions like Crown, Seymour Duncan powerstage, Tc electronics. I just don't know which brand let alone model is the right one. was looking for a solid state amp so that the sound isn't colored in anyway by real tubes. I am a noob with this stuff but I would really like some help with this.

Totally happy with my matrix gt1000fx. Delivering enough power for two 4x12 cabs (for the af3 of my band buddy and also my own one) in the rehearsal room but also om stage. Lightweight compared to cheaper ones, and rather neutral. However, have not compared to Fayette, Seymour Duncan or other mid or higher price range models.

There are tons of threads on this topic, but the short of it is that the gt1000fx is a great choice. You really wouldn’t need the extra wattage of the 1600 unless you intend to power multiple cabinets or you are a bass player. The one trade off of the 1u version is that the fans are loud. This is not a problem at gig volumes, but for home or studio use may be annoying.

Last edited:
There are tons of threads on this topic, but the short of it is that the gt1000fx is a great choice. You really wouldn’t need the extra wattage of the 1600 unless you intend to power multiple cabinets or you are a bass player. The one trade off of the 1u version is that the fans are loud this is not a problem at gig volumes, but for home or studio use may be