Gibson LP Studio Deluxe question from a Strat guy

Stratman68

Axe-Master
So, I have decided I want one. Yes that specific model.
My question is, what years are better to look for used? 2,000's or 2010's?
Or is it just a really huge hit and miss as far as QC with these no matter what year you buy?
Strats and Teles I have my own opinions, but Gibson I have NO experience.

Why LP Studio DLX? Too long a story but this is what I have decided on.
Thanks guys.

Huge hit or miss from all years of production on any Gibson solid body, more misses that hits honestly so be diligent in your selection. Make sure you buy in person and thoroughly check it out before agreeing on a nice low purchase price.

What Musikron said ! Also ..., I'd add that everyone that I ever played had a neck like a damn baseball bat ... !

If that's what you like then it's ALL good ..., but coming from a Strat ( which is what I play mostly too ) ..., it's simply too much neck for my hands !

GOOD LUCK !

What Musikron said ! Also ..., I'd add that everyone that I ever played had a neck like a damn baseball bat ... !

If that's what you like then it's ALL good ..., but coming from a Strat ( which is what I play mostly too ) ..., it's simply too much neck for my hands !

GOOD LUCK !
One of the reasons for my choice was the 60's slim taper neck. Your correct, much different than a Strat...Thanks

If you're a Strat guy who wants a Les Paul sound, why not get a Strat with 2 humbuckers and Les Paul style wiring? Best of both worlds really.

Why LP Studio DLX? Too long a story but this is what I have decided on.

This is a problem when you're thinking on paper and in your mind than with wood in your hands/real world/tangible thought

On paper- it sounds perfect, best bang for the buck- good value, same woods- same tone etc- little nicer than the simpler one but still have the LP tone etc... sure... on paper it sounds great.