Footswitch not working....

blueswede

I have been using my FX8 for about 3 years every Sunday with no issues. Yesterday went to chuck and hooked everything up and discovered that the button for one of my effects would not work. Clicked it a number of times and nothing. Do I need to replace it it, and if so, how difficult is that?

I’ve had buttons go bad from use & contacted Fractal for a replacement w/ no issues. Send them an e-mail & explain the issue is in detail. They’ll get you all fixed-up.

Is it your most used button? Possibly #1 (Just curious)?

Good luck!

X

Last edited:
I thought I had a bad footswitch once, but I ended up stomping it harder than usual (I am gentle on my gear) a couple times. It ended up working again and hasn't been an issue since. Can't really explain it! I was about to send it to Fractal when I decided to give it some tough love first, haha.

It was easy for me & I’ve replaced two switches so far. You’re not doing anything w/ electronics here & all mechanical.....

If you’re not comfortable with this, get some help.

X
I went on this messageboard hoping that I would find some kind of tutorial on how to take apart my FX-8 to replace the footswitches. I was disappointed that no one posted one on this forum so I decided to post my own tutorial for those of you who need to remove & replace your FX-8 or AX-8 footswitches.

Ian DeSantis from Fractal Audio tech support has been very helpful in resolving my footswitch issues and directed me to a link to obtain parts for my FX-8 footswitch. Please note that the replacement footswitch is listed as the AX-8 footswitch on their website. It's the same part for both the AX-8 & FX-8.