FM9 USB - Computer Integration

e.p

Hi all, newbie here so please be nice 😀I am modernising my setup to a laptop based system to cut size, travel costs and hopefully integrate some specfic plugins into an FM9 based system. I don't play traditional rock or pop, but leaning towards avant grade, jazz and a dash of ambient soundscapery.........I am hoping I can integrate FM9 into an Apple MainStage system via the USB interface on the FM9. That is send audio from within the fx chain from the FM9 to MainStage and then back to the FM9 va USB to the stereo outs. Reading the manual this seems to be possible, but the big question is latency in practical terms and how the FM9 interface performs. I would effectively be monitoring through MainStage (not a parallel signal path) via the FM9. I have a number of specific plugins I want to integrate using MainStage with FM9 in such a way. Has anyone here achieved this ? Pro's & Con's ? Any perspectives would be much appreciated ! Thank-you all.

Monitoring through plugins like that is fairly common. As you mention, the issue is latency. Low buffer sizes is the only way to deal with that. Whether it's acceptable depends a lot on your cpu, the kind of sounds you're playing, and your own tolerance. Note there's a buffer setting in the FM9 in addition to the CoreAudio buffer setting. Also, you may need to use Logic instead of Mainstage to get the usb routing you want.

Monitoring through plugins like that is fairly common. As you mention, the issue is latency. Low buffer sizes is the only way to deal with that. Whether it's acceptable depends a lot on your cpu, the kind of sounds you're playing, and your own tolerance. Note there's a buffer setting in the FM9 in addition to the CoreAudio buffer setting. Also, you may need to use Logic instead of Mainstage to get the usb routing you want.