1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

FM3 hot questions (and, hopefully, answers)

Discussion in 'FM3 Discussion' started by Barmaleus, Apr 25, 2019.

  1. #1 Barmaleus, Apr 25, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2019
    Barmaleus

    Barmaleus
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    If you have some burning questions about FM3 - post here. Hopefully people with answers will answer to some of them =)


    Some answers to previously asked questions:

    TriChorus
    can this be controlled with a "regular" midi pedal?
     
  2. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20,902
    Likes Received:
    24,700
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. Veritas0Aequitas

    Veritas0Aequitas
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    46
    I assume it supports 4CM and amp channel changes with MIDI?
     
  4. Matt_B_77

    Matt_B_77
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Illinios
    Define "supports" because while something may work in a certain way it may not be optimized to do so.
     
    jon and Veritas0Aequitas like this.
  5. Barmaleus

    Barmaleus
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
  6. Bigeclipse

    Bigeclipse
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    16
    Why did FM3 not drop with more DSP?!?!?!

    I feel like it will already be obsolete the day it drops. This makes me nervous that in 6 months, fractal may be able to make a hot new amp model or cab model or FXs but only add it to the AX FXIII and not the FM3 due to lack of dsp.
     
    sb-SG, yngwie1993 and jclemensfl like this.
  7. Smittefar

    Smittefar
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3,907
    Likes Received:
    3,753
    Location:
    Denmark
    I am dying to know, if this thing has global blocks.

    I am also very curious to learn how well two FM3's would play together. Six FootSwitches, Two amp blocks, tons of processing power. If two would integrate nicely, it might be a very compelling option.
     
    Brian Coonan likes this.
  8. jclemensfl

    jclemensfl
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    14
    So for those of us who are perhaps not as technologically aware, can someone please explain to me why they would drop a new unit with the same processing power of the unit they released 3-plus years ago? I have read a few comments about fitting the form factor. Have there been been no DSP processors released in the last three years with more power at the same physical size? Apologies if I'm oversimplifying it, but that seems to be a huge loss for everyone looking for more power than the current unit (which seemed to be most people on these threads).
     
  9. Barmaleus

    Barmaleus
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    For example:
    More power = more expensive processor(s) + more heat + bigger chassis = increased price.

    That's just one of the factors.
     
    r3vo1ution1991 likes this.
  10. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,712
    Likes Received:
    16,810
    the issue is heat. i believe there isn't a better CPU that can run cool. once you put fans in a unit that goes on the floor, all sorts of dirt go inside and can mess things up.

    i don't think FAS meant the exact same everything is in the FM3 vs the AX8. he said it's similar.

    as an introduction, i think it's just so we know it's not exactly an Axe-Fx III in the floor.

    --
    now generally speaking:

    it's been 2 days. the amp show is in a few days from now. we'll have more answers in a very short amount of time. it's not even shipping yet. yes we're all excited, but some are so demanding right now it's kinda silly.

    days. we'll have more answer in days.
     
    jamn4jc likes this.
  11. Tahoebrian5

    Tahoebrian5
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    1,977
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    CPU does nay affect how many amp models can be in the firmware. That is a memory issue. CPU is mainly how many blocks can be active on the grid at one time.
     
  12. Barmaleus

    Barmaleus
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    FM3 has a fan, btw. No idea how big and how exactly the air moves there. Turns on at certain temperatures.
     
  13. jclemensfl

    jclemensfl
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ok, thank you for the response. So if it is nearly impossible to put a better processor in a unit this size, it would be fair to say that everyone hoping for the ability to have dual amps in a compact floor unit is SOL for the foreseeable future? I mean, it would be good to know that it's just not going to happen, right? Then we can all move on and make our choices based on what works for us. Thanks for the information.
     
  14. Smittefar

    Smittefar
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    3,907
    Likes Received:
    3,753
    Location:
    Denmark
    Would it be possible to keep this thread free of speculation? I like the concept that you can ask factual questions, and we can help each other get factual answers. The announcement thread is already way too messy to search for answers - on the other hand, it is full of speculation :)
     
    Ole, Deasnutz, JCity and 2 others like this.
  15. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20,902
    Likes Received:
    24,700
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I use my Axe-Fx III intensely and I don’t even use dual Amp blocks. Channel switching works well, especially when you know how to do it.
     
    Scented Meat, JCity and jon like this.
  16. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,712
    Likes Received:
    16,810
    it does?
     
  17. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20,902
    Likes Received:
    24,700
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  18. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,712
    Likes Received:
    16,810
  19. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    10,827
    Likes Received:
    6,615
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    An important part of that quote:

     
  20. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,712
    Likes Received:
    16,810
    naw man. people here are such good players, they play so many notes and make the fan run 100% of the time. they're that good! better than many of us.
     
    pauly and jefferski like this.

Share This Page